Installation fail

Hey guys,

I’m totally new to Linux. I downloaded and burnt my copy of OpenSuse 11.3 yesterday and tried to install it on my old laptop. But the installation keeps failing for some reason. I will try to attach a picture.

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/c516d985d9.jpg](http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)

Someone can explain me what’s going on?
Thanks
The laptop itself is already a few years old

1. did you check the MD5 checksums of the download to be sure you got a good copy?
  2. did you run the media check on the CD/DVD to see if you got a good burn?
  3. did you run a memory check from from the disk to see if the memory in the machine is good?

How much memory and what CPU and what video card on this machine?

Possibly a corrupt ISO image you downloaded. The first thing to do after downloading openSUSE is to verify the download: Download openSUSE 11.3. Scroll down to the heading “Verify your download”.

Additionally, did you run the “Media Check” option on booting from the CD/DVD?

1. yes
  2. same error as i posted above
  3. yes

512 MB and Radeon Express 200M

and yep, i verified the file.
and as stated above, i did the media check which resulted in the same error

That is 512MB of RAM ? This is minimal amount of RAM for an install, … it may or may not work. It also suggests an old PC. Did you burn the CD on the same PC, or on a newer PC ? Note a difference in age in CD-burner vs CD-reader can mean a calibration difference, and hence md5sum checks may pass on the burner PC, but the CD fail on the older PC with the old CD-reader. Hence ensure you burned the CD to a +R or a -R (not an RW) at the slowest speed your burner allows, to try to improve the probability of the CD working in an older PC.

Also, with only 500MB of RAM, you may wish to instead consider a text mode installation : Text mode install from liveCD

and also consider using the ‘nomodeset’ boot code.