Install tumbleweed via chroot method

Hi guys,

i am new to Opensuse.
I’d like know if i can to install Opensuse Tumbleweed via chroot method.
I see that i only can use the official installer…
To understand us, I would like to install opensuse like arch, gentoo, void etc…
Is that possible or am i writing stupid things?

Regards

Go back enough years and chroot was the common way to run isolated processes.
But, nowadays I rarely hear people running a chroot except for quick, temporary situations.
We have a multitude of newer technologies nowadays that can run isolated systems and processes starting with “just isolation” technologies like docker, lxc, systemd-nspawn,
hypervisor based virtualization like Virtualbox, VMware, KVM, Xen,
And even some lesser known hybrids like User Mode virtualization.

If you want to run a chroot, there are even some “improved” ways to do that including Firejail.

But,
If you want to chroot, you can do so, too…
If you can’t find a good guide how to do it, I’m sure we can help get you off to a good start.

Most questions that are about running applications and systems in isolation, or virtualization or emulation are ususally posted to the Virtualization forum.

TSU

I never wanted to do manually what the installer does automatically. Why do you want a manual installation?

Even if the opensuse installer is the best installer on Linux in my opinion,
I don’t know if the installer can cover all use cases.
For these reason i prefer to do it manually if it’s possible.

Hi
That’s why autoyast was created https://doc.opensuse.org/projects/autoyast/ :wink: Or if of a mind roll your own kiwi image SUSE Studio Express

Cool! I’ll have to study a little but it seems amazing.
Thanks