Install on Toshiba Portege M205

I’m a newbie and am having a problem.

I have a Toshiba Portege M205-S810 tablet. This computer has a usb cd-rw/dvd-rom drive only. I have a 160 gb HD with 2 partitions. The first contains Windows 7 (I can’t remove this, it has all my school stuff), and the second partition is empty.

I downloaded the KDE LiveCD version of 11.2, and the MD5 was correct. I burned the image to a cd via imgburn, and the write was verified.

I want to install OpenSUSE 11.2 onto the 2nd partition. I restart my computer, get into the BIOS, and enable boot from cd-rom. I restart again, the drive spins a bit, and then the windows 7 start screen appears. I’m not sure why this is happening, and would appreciate getting this installed on my 2nd partition.

Thanks!

Have you used this DVD drive for booting prior to now? I have found on another site that the Toshiba Portege M205-S810 tablet is only compatible with certain USB drives.

You can check here to see if it is compatible:
Toshiba Europe GmbH - Technical Support Bulletin

I have used the DVD drive before. The M205 comes with a Toshiba slimline USB drive that you can boot from. Even after I updated the BIOS to v1.80, it has worked. I have used the XP restore disc that came with the computer and Win7 Ultimate.

It doesn’t have DVD burning capabilities, hence why I used the KDE LiveCD.

Is there a way to set up opensuse in Virtualbox, copy a disk image from that, and then place the image into another partition? Just a thought.

It might be possible, but it would probably be easier to get your CD drive to be bootable.

When you enter the BIOS, does it show that the CD drive is connected or do you have another bootable disk that you can use to verify that the system is seeing the CD drive at boot time?

It shows that the drive is present, and I’ve already used the XP image disc (without going through the restore process) to verify that the drive is being seen.