I cannot create a live USB stick in any way

Hi all!

I have been trying to create an openSUSE 12.3 live USB stick but it seems that everything is against me (or maybe I’m just a noob :D)

First of all I tried with UNetbootin and the boot screen just had a “Default” option that made nothing.

Later I found this guide and followed the Windows steps, since I was using Windows 7.
I downloaded ImageWriter, ran it as an administrator, selected the image file (which passed the checksum test) and pressed “Copy”. It made nothing. I pressed it again and then an error message popped out “Cannot access the USB stick, are you sure you’re running the program as an administrator?”. “…Yeah, I’m sure”. Tried a few more times, plugged and unplugged the USB, even restarted the computer and the same thing happened.
“Okay, Windows officially hates me now, let’s try to make this work in Xubuntu” - I thought, since I had a live USB with it.

So here I am, trying to make this work in Xubuntu.
I followed the steps for Linux in the previous guide but I don’t have anything named YaST and I cannot install “imagewriter” in the Software Center because it says that “There isn’t a software package called “usb-imagewriter” in your current software sources.”
I’m starting with Linux, so I have no clue what to do now.

Any idea? Thanks in advance :wink:

P.S.: The USB is fine, I successfully mounted other live CD images on it.

Imagewriter should just work under Windows, at least it does for me in Windows XP.
Maybe try to right-click on it’s icon and choose “Run as Administrator”? (Windows 7 likes to constrain you, even if you are Administrator)

Or under Ubuntu or any other linux, just use “dd” to write the image to the USB-stick:

sudo dd if=*image_filename* of=/dev/sdX

where sdX id the device name of your USB-stick, you can check this by connecting it and calling “dmesg”…

Thank you for your response, but I still couldn’t get it work :
I even tried on a Windows XP, and nothing.