Howto install Novatel Merlin card c201

Greetings all,

Please can someone educate me on how to install and configure a Novatel Merlin Card c201 CDMA PCMCIA card. I have already activated the card on a Windows XP box. But I am a newbie to Linux and really fell in love with OpenSuse after trying out Ubuntu and Fedora. I will really like to stick to OpenSuse, but to do this, I will have to get my wireless CDMA card working on it.

Thank you in advance.

Donpj

I have a Kyocera PCMCIA CDMA card (not sure of the exact model). I use kinternet to dial out with it, and have it configured as /dev/ttyUSB0 in Yast / Network Devices / Modem.

Mine is detected at boot up and Suse automatically loads the airprime driver for it. I can see it being detected if I turn off the splash screen during boot up.

You will need to get the phone number, username and password in order to connect. Do a google search for your provider and include “linux” in the search to try to find out what is info needed to connect properly. Some providers require a password and a username, and some just require you to dial the correct number (they are able to get your username from info stored inside the device)

Another source of this info, should you not be able to find it posted, would be to go into Windows and look at the config files for the program Windows uses to connect to your provider. That was where I found the correct password and how my username needed to be typed out in order to be able to log in.

I had to disable compression to be able to connect to my provider, but I have never heard of anyone else needing to do this.

donpj wrote:

>
> Greetings all,
>
> Please can someone educate me on how to install and configure a Novatel
> Merlin Card c201 CDMA PCMCIA card. I have already activated the card on
> a Windows XP box. But I am a newbie to Linux and really fell in love
> with OpenSuse after trying out Ubuntu and Fedora. I will really like to