How to turn on wireles ?

Hi, im new in linux :slight_smile:
I had just installed openSuse 11.0 version on my laptop HP dv.6000, wireless broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN, but i have problem i dont know how to turn on wireless…:’( it would be nice if someone could write step by step how to make it working :slight_smile:

start Networkmanager (in KDE KNetworkanager)
after it starts, in the taskbar should be an icon, which looks like earth.
right click–>new connection → the interface (mine are eth0 (LAN) and ra0 (WLAN)) → go to the wireless lan interface → select the network → key → connect and save

if there is no wireless lan interface, it could be, that there is no driver installed

damm, nothing… :frowning: this is the reason why i dont use linux all the time…then i need internet i must turn windows on, becouse my wireless dont work…i cant find drivers…

which Network card do you have?

yes, i done :slight_smile: later i will write everything how i done this :wink: that others would be easy to make they wireless work

this is the adress where i find answer of my problem :wink:
Click here

I’d like someone to explain how to get NetworkManager working >:(

I have installs of opensuse from 11.0 all the way up to 11.2 Alpha0 and they all seem to have a problem with NetworkManager. I have to run ifup to get connected. That works, so I know it isn’t a driver issue. I’m trying to get a school to try out opensuse on dozens of laptops. Without this working, it is a show stopper.

I’m hoping it will be fixed in tomorrow’s release.

i have new wireless problem with openSUSE 11.1 version, i install broadcom wireless driver, it works, but then i put my wep key, for example 0123456789, from may key it ganerate new one, and i cant connect to my station. So maybe anyone know how to make that it dont generate new key from my key :confused:

Tadziz wrote:
> i have new wireless problem with openSUSE 11.1 version, i install
> broadcom wireless driver, it works, but then i put my wep key, for