How To install one or several additional desktop environments ?

Hello everybody,

I’m new to GNU/Linux and openSUSE. I’ve just installed 12.3 on an Asus laptop and it works fine. I chose the KDE install, but I want to try other DEs, and especially, as a first try, Xfce. I’ve also a problem of display with openTTD under KDE.

What I would like to do is : install just the DE Xfce, without extra apps like Abiword (I’ve already LibreOffice with KDE) or Midori (Firefox…) etc.

What do I have to do for that ?

Thanks in advance. And long live openSUSE !

Bug.

YaST > Software > Software Management.Use the View button and choose Patterns. You will find LXDE, Gnome, KDE4 and XFCE there.

Thanks for your answer. I’ve already done that, but there is a “bunch” of packages appearing to be installed, and I don’t really understand what they are for (description is often missing). But if you “certify” to me this is the necessary and sufficient step to have a working “minimal” Xfce DE, that’s fine to me.

Best regards,

Bug.

P.S. Sorry for my english, it’s perhaps not so good and understandable.

It normaly isn’t worth to go and decide for every package if you realy need it or not. Only when you are short of disk space, but that is nowadays hardly the case. Thus: install all.

When you decide later (after half a year or so) that you only want to work with one desktop, then at the next version of openSUSE, install anew and install only the DE you want. That will then clean up things.

Hi,

When you are in the yast2-softwaremanagement-patterns
There are two Xfce that you will find, the xfce base system and the xfce desktop environment

Check both and if you want to modify the xfce installation, just keep the xfce base system
and in the xfce desktop environment it is where you can take out some application that you don’t want ex. abiworld etc.
Just be careful that when you attempt to remove a package it is not warning “you” of dependencies if it is just install it