I’m new to openSUSE Tumbleweed. Since it’s a rolling release distribution, I assume it’s not a good idea to let the auto-updater from the settings install updates automatically, and that the safest way to update is via zypper dup. Please correct me if I’m wrong.
How often do you run zypper dup? Also, how do you avoid update issues with Nvidia drivers? These past few days there was an issue with the Nvidia drivers and I couldn’t install them on a freshly installed Tumbleweed because they weren’t updated in the userspace.
Hi, I review the snapshot announcement to see what has changed. Sometimes need to rebuild some local packages first and distribute to the other Tumbleweed systems, then run zypper -vvv dup on all four system.
Reviewing the snapshot announcement and generally upgrading once a week unless something important shows up (like new kernel, new Gnome, a new app version I was waiting for…).
No Nvidia showstopper in years, once you understand how upgrades work it is relatively easy to revert changes via snapshots or the Tumbleweed history repo.
Hi. As soon as i receive a Discover popup notification, i open the terminal and do zypper dup. For me is that simple, and it can be even daily. I don’t have a Nvidia gpu though
I just manually zypper dup once or twice a week. It is interesting to follow and/or read the factory mailing list announcements, but i don’t do it all the time.
In addition to what @OrsoBruno wrote, you can also start Myrlyn and see the update candidates in the “Updates” tab. Hit the “Dist-Upgrade” button to see which ones can actually be cleanly applied. If you see any “sad face” emojis, don’t worry: That’s updates that currently can’t be applied (which is quite common on Slowroll).
Nothing is changed until you hit the “Accept” button. If any additonal packages need to be installed or removed to satisfy dependencies, you’ll get another confirmation popup. Only then the actual package download starts, and when that is done, the packages are actually updated (or installed or removed).
You can still cancel the whole process until all packages are downloaded. The downloads remain cached until they are actually used.