How do I boot into a degraded LUKS-encrypted Btrfs RAID 1?

tl;dr: I have set up a LUKS-encrypted Btrfs RAID 1 (in a VM), but can’t get it to boot when I detach one (virtual) hard drive. How do I do that?

More details:

One of my PCs requires redundancy, so I decided to dive into Btrfs and its RAID 1 implementation (in a VM for now). I’m quite new to OpenSUSE and a self-taught Linux user - but generally I manage to solve most problems I come across with some GoogleFu and lots of patience. However, booting into an encrypted Btrfs RAID 1 system with one (of two) hard drives missing is proving to be too tough a nut for me to crack (and I have spent a looooot of time on this, searching this forum, Reddit, search engines, etc.).

Coming from Debian, I must say I love the OpenSUSE installer (as well as many other things). Using the expert partitioner during installation allowed me to set up a Btrfs RAID1 quite easily:

• sda1 - 0.50GiB - not encrypted - EFI - mount point: /boot/efi
  • sda2 - 63.50GiB - encrypted - unformatted - unmounted (this becomes the RAID)
  • sdb1 - 0.50GiB - not encrypted - EFI - umounted (this later becomes an EFI clone)
  • sdb2 - 63.50GiB - encrypted - unformatted - unmounted (this becomes the RAID)
  • to create the Btrfs RAID:
    – choose Btrfs on the left
    – “Add Btrfs…”
    – RAID Level “RAID1”
    – RAID Level for Metadata “RAID1”
    – add sda2 and sdb2
    – Mount Point /
    – Enable Snapshots

So far so good, the installer finishes, the system boots, encryption works, Btrfs seems to be a RAID1, perfect!

Now comes the tough part though: simulating a drive failure. I (virtually) detached sdb. The system starts, asks for the LUKS password for sda2, then the grub screen, after choosing the first option I briefly get:

Booting `openSUSE Tumbleweed'

error: ../../grub-core/disk/cryptodisk.c:1519:no such cryptodisk found, perhaps a
needed disk or cryptodisk module is not loaded.
Loading Linux 6.8.6-1-default ...