Hi

Hey everyone!

I’m new to openSUSE, but I have a bit of experience with unbuntu. What would you say the largest difference between the two are? I will primarily be using SUSE to build my limited bash scripting as well as exploring virturalization and networking; have I chosen an appropriate distro? Currently downloading the dvd but am looking for some advice before installing.

Thanks in advance for putting up with my questions,

-ck

Welcome to openSUSE forum

Lots of reading here
NEW Users - Suse-11.3 Pre-installation – PLEASE READ

FYI: yast is the control for just about everything and very easy

see my signature to some guides

Before you install, backup important data.
Burn the DVD as slow as you can
Do the media check, like this: http://lh6.ggpht.com/_hOiUsWwC6VQ/TC2F9NNQKPI/AAAAAAAAASQ/90wbVzpVa48/s640/1.jpg

Hi and welcome to openSUSE, hope you enjoy.
I think one big difference is the GUI system configurator called YAST.
And another is the target audience. I think Ubuntu is made for desktop home users as a primary target (amongst others of course) whereas openSUSE is more cutting edge and geeky (but also for home users of course).
So if you’re learning bash scripting openSUSE is good for that. Ubu may not be so good for scripting because of the way they handle root users and the sudo style of accessing rootly powers.

Thanks guys!

I’m currently reading this: NEW Users - openSuse Pre-install (general) – PLEASE READ and have this: Repositories - openSUSE Community Wiki bookmarked. Do you have any bookmark worthy webpages I should know about?

Also, if you wouldn’t mind recommending some books on scripting (bash) and virturalization that would be greatly appreciated.

-ck