Help installing openSUSE on Samsung r40p

Hi,

I’ve installed openSUSE 11.0 on my Samsung r40+ laptop. But suse boots only in text mode :\ I’m pretty new at linux. Do you guys have any ideas how can i fix this?

Intel Core 2 Duo T5500 @ 1.66Ghz (better than Dual Core!)
ATI Radeon Xpress 1250 Graphics card
1024MB DDR2 Ram (Samsung)
120GB Hard Drive
Mother Board: SAMSUNG Electronics CO LTD, R40P/R41P

Sorry for my english :slight_smile:

Hi & Welcome!

Try running the video setup with standard vesa support.
To do this log into the console as root and run

sax2 -r -m 0=vesa

This instructs openSUSE’es video setup program to not look at any previous configuration, probe again and forces to use the vesa driver.

If you get a nice testscreen save the configuration and reboot. If all goes well X will startup fine.

After this you can install the propriety ATI driver, look here for a one-click install and other useful info:
ATI - openSUSE

Good luck!
Wj

Thank you for your fast response.
But when I run that code- this is what i get:

Click

:\

Maybe I can install drivers with the console?

Can you copy and paste the contents of /var/log/SaX.log here?

Make sure you run the sax2 command when in runlevel 3 (console mode), reboot and enter
init 3
as boot option.

Also, what happens if you just let sax2 try and match a working driver with:
sax2 -r

-Wj

ps: it is possible to install the Ati driver from the console, follow this guide : ATI - openSUSE Get_and_Install_ATI_Drivers (starting at the step 1 bit)

I’m sorry, but to work in console it’s a “cosmos” to me. I just don’t know how to copy /var/log/SaX.log :slight_smile: I done what you said. Every time it’s the same. but in /var/log/SaX.log i found this. Is this it?

No problem… we work it as we know it… And slowly the cosmos will be explored :wink:

You could try once more with :

sax2 -r -m 0=radeonhd

If this is a fresh install it might be easier to give the install another try? Meaning : do a new fresh install.