Help! Grub didn't install!

I was in the middle of my download when it said Grub didn’t install properly. I said ok, so I went on with the download. Big mistake. Now I have total access to openSUSE, but XP IS GONE! I cant access it, no matter how I try. I need XP and the files on it. Please help!

Hi,

If you have the Windows DVD you should be able to use that to restore the Windows bootloader.

Regards,
Barry.

Also, in case you weren’t aware, you can access the files in your Windows partition from Linux, it’s normally mounted as /windows.

But don’t panic, you will be able to get back into Windows.

Barry, are you available for chat? I think it might be easier so that way you can guide me through this. That’d be a great help.

Hi,

I can log in to IRC if you want, but I’m really no expert in this area, I would try to follow what has been suggested by others.

I think this may be a good starting point: lost windows option from boot menu - openSUSE Forums it sounds like a similar problem to yours and has been solved.

Regards,
Barry.

You need to post the result of this from a su terminal

fdisk -l

and

cat /boot/grub/menu.lst

It is helpful, but I think I found an easier way. I’m in the bootloader now, and I’m wondering is there’s a certain setting that I can change so that I can get into XP. Is there?

Slow down, you are in danger of doing more harm than good. As it is, windows is still there, you just need to have an entry for it. If we had the info we asked for, we could help.

There is a guide here:
GRUB Boot Multiboot openSUSE Windows (2000, XP, Vista) using the Grub bootloader.

And this section applies to where you are: