Having a Couple Problems on the Install of 13.2 and could use some help

Hey all,

This weekend I tried installing openSUSE 13.2 for the first time, I’ve never used openSUSE before and was previously running Ubuntu which I was overwriting. I went through the entire installation process from my Live USB and it appeared to install with no issues. However, when it reboots to open for the first time I get an error with grub2, “GRUB rescue - error: unknown filesystem”.

Apparently this error is not uncommon so I followed the advice from some previous threads and did an “ls” in this view to look for all the partitions: what returned was “(hd0,gpt1)” through “(hd0,gpt10)”. Following the advice of these threads I tried to list the contents of each partitions root. All of them came back “unknown filesystem” except for one, (hd0,gpt8) which returned the following:

./ ../ lost+found/ tom/

All of the previous suggestions were predicated on the idea that one of these partitions would have a “boot/” directory listed under the root of one of the partitions, but alas, mine did not.

Then I tried rebooting into the recovery mode of the Live USB. This is where I found something interesting. I was trying to look for clues as to what went wrong and when I did an “fdisk -l” I found that the 3 partitions in which openSUSE installed root, home, and swap (/dev/sda7, /dev/sda8, /dev/sda9, respectively) were listed by fdisk to contain “Windows Basic Data”. The machine that I am installing on does dual boot Windows 8.1 which worked alongside by Ubuntu previously. I’m at a loss as to what would cause this.

My present theory is that all the openSUSE data has been written onto these partitions but for whatever reason they are not being recognized as containing that data. I am by no means a Linux expert though so I would really appreciate any help that you guys and gals could give me in trying to set this up. Let me know if there’s any more information that I can provide to you.