Graphics

Hi!

I’m new to the forums. I’ve been running openSUSE 64 bit for about an year. I have a few questions about graphics since I’m a student in graphics design and I’m wondering is it possible to use open source for professional work?

So far I’ve been playing with Blender and it’s absolutely wonderful application.

In 2D applications, however, I’m not sure witch software to pick. Can you give me advice about witch application is good for what and about pen-tablet support - I’m looking for a beginner’s tablet (of course working with openSUSE).

Thanks!

If you install wine you can run Photoshop cs2 have a read here The Gimp is ok but maybe not as good as PS Xaraxtreme is good IMHO but the site is down at the mo :frowning:

/Geoff

> is it possible to use open source for
> professional work?

is that a legal or a technical question? well, you may legally use open
software to earn money, professionally. and, there are open source
applications which meet or exceed the technical quality and capability
of commercial software…so, in either case you are good to go.

> So far I’ve been playing with Blender and it’s absolutely wonderful
> application.

check around, you will find that most of hollyweird runs some flavor of
open source based software

> In 2D applications, however, I’m not sure witch software to pick. Can
> you give me advice about witch application is good for what

imo GIMP is the cat’s meow in working with photos, and getting better
and better…i do not agree with the other poster’s recommendation for
any flavor of PhotoShop…well, that said i must admit that i have
purchased NO PhotoShop (or any other software) to run in WINE…

for vector graphics, give Inkscape a try…

there is a LOT to learn in either program…be patient…seek free
tutorials on the net (there are thousands of pages and hints)…

> and about
> pen-tablet support - I’m looking for a beginner’s tablet (of course
> working with openSUSE).