Getting a "Can't find operation system" after installing

I Downloaded openSUSE 11.1 after my Windows started malfunctioning. So my computer still had the windows when I loaded the live CD.

Everything opened fine, and then I tried installing. I didn’t really know what to do with the partitions, so i left it the way it was (it said something about resizing my windows)…

Then I rebooted, and took out the live CD like told.
And i got “Couldn’t find operating system”

I wonder if it’s cause of something i should have done with the partitions?

I’m completely new to Linux, I’ve used Windows all my life.
I really appreciate your help.

please someone help me out,
i can’t access windows either.

Can someone at least tell me how to install it correctly (i already read the guide for the newbie, but it doesn’t say what you do if you already have a windows installed, it shows something completely different).

if someone could please tell me how to remove whats left of my windows, and install OpenSUSe on the whole drive. And what to do with the partitions.

will have to work from memory here…
The partitioning in 11.1 is a little different to previous versions. You will need to select custom partitioning when the default layout is presented to you. This will pass you to a split screen set up with your physical volumes and their partitions on the left of screen. Clicking on a volume (sda for example) will present the partitions for editing on the right of screen. I do recall thinking, “hmmm this is a little new” at the time.
My attack has always been (for a single 80GB drive)
Delete all existing partitions.
create new 30Gb ext3 or ext2 mount point “/” select the Format option
create new 40GB ext3 or ext2 mount point “/home” select the format option
create new (balance available) “mount” as swap
That is a very simplified approach and should see you installing quickly and easily.