I have an openSUSE 11.4 with freeradius and dhcp. In the last two freeradius updates with official openSUSE packages (using yast), the file “default” (where i have my configs) has been replaced for the “original” file (/etc /raddb/sites-available). This caused me many problems until I discovered where the problem was.
Why do this? Is it wrong for updates? Why openSuse updates overwrite my file “default” in /etc /raddb/sites-available?
You should wait for people knowing more about *freeradius, *because I do not know anything about it. But my first impression is that you might have configured your freeradius in the wrong place. To me it seems that a file named default contains default vallues as a fallback when no local configuration is made, And as such that file belongs to the unconfigurable part of the product (and thus must be reloaded on any install of the product). Are you sure you used the correct configuration tool(s), or, when these are not available, did read the documentation (man pages?) thouroughly enough to configure correctly?
I dd not think that it will be different on openSUSE (you seem to use many different ways of writing this, this is the correct one) from other distros.
The fact that you used it elsewhere is of course no prove that you did it “correct” (that is as the designers of FreeRadius designed it). I think the FreeRadius documentation should tell you. But it may be a badly documented product.
One things about openSUSE is it uses YaST for most configuration
options, if you manually tweak config files you need to expect they may
be overwritten during an update. If you use YaST this shouldn’t happen.
> One things about openSUSE is it uses YaST for most configuration
> options, if you manually tweak config files you need to expect they may
> be overwritten during an update. If you use YaST this shouldn’t happen.
It should not happen in neither case.
If a file can be silently replaced on updates, it should contain a comment mentioning this; if
the comment does not exist, it is a bug that the OP should report in bugzilla.
If the file should not be edited, but another file instead, then this should be in the
comments, and if not, report in bugzilla.
Normally, when a config file is replaced by an update (be it yast, zypper, apper, rpm) the old
config file is renamed as default.rpmsave. Pablo, have you verified this? If this did not
happen, again you must fill a bugzilla.
Cheers / Saludos,
Carlos E. R.
(from 12.1 x86_64 “Asparagus” at Telcontar)