Firefox

When i click on firefox it shows the bouncing icon…but does not open,…i had done some update on gecko(dunno what it is ,but it seems to be linked with html)…can anyone help me out.

Also i had mounted the windows partitions manually …now they have all disappeared what is wrong with my system,have i got a virus ???

P.S: I’m a newbie.

Most likely not a virus, there are very few, if any, virii in the wild for Linux, more likely you need to install additional libraries,. It would help to know what version of Firefox and what version of openSUSE you are running. To check and see what’s missing you might also try opening a console and try to start Firefox from there.

opensuse 11.0
What have i got to do in that case ???

What desktop manager are you using KDE, GNOME or another? It’s so I can point you to a console.

Open a terminal session within your graphical environment. You should get a command-line prompt like 'bash: ’ or ‘user@computer:~>’. Give the command ‘firefox’. Changes are great that you will get an error message. That error message gives you the reason of failure.

I hope this helps you better.

I am using KDE 3.5

Ok, go to your K menu under system and look for Konsole, open it and type Firefox in and post the results here, you CAN copy and paste from Konsole.

I typed firefox in terminal…this is what i got …
“Could not find compatible GRE between version 1.9b5 and 1.9b5.”

Ok you need to install mozilla-xulrunner190 from the repos. Open YaST and do a search for it.

Download or use the dvd.

It should be in YaST, if you upgraded Firefox, you’ll need the matching file to go with it.

Add the mozilla repository source from here.
YaST -> Software Repositories -> Add -> Specify URL.
Then go to YaST -> Software management | search for Mozilla Firefox and install the latest version. (xulrunner, nspr, nss, etc. are dependencies, i think they need to be installed/updated automatically with Firefox).
I hope this helps.
Good luck!