"File not found" when trying to boot with grub2 (multiboot usb from live CD/ISOs)

I’m new to grub2 and trying to get all my Live CD ISOs onto a single usb to boot from.

I’ve been working at this all weekend, but can’t get it quite right.

Today I got the farthest yet with the GRUB menu actually appearing instead of booting to command line.

All the menu entries are there, but no matter which one I select I get the following error:

error: file not found.
error: you need to load the kernel first.

Press any key to continue… #brings me back to grub2 menu with entries

Below is a snippet of my grub.cfg file:

set timeout=10
set default=0

menuentry "archlinux-2011.08.19-netinstall-x86_64.iso" {
set isofile="boot/iso/archlinux-2011.08.19-netinstall-x86_64.iso"
loopback loop (hd0,msdos1)/$isofile
linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=$isofile noprompt noeject
initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
}

... <more entries...>

menuentry "openSUSE-12.1-NET-x86_64.iso" {
set isofile="boot/iso/openSUSE-12.1-NET-x86_64.iso"
linux (loop)/casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=$isofile noprompt noeject
initrd (loop)/casper/initrd.lz
}

My USB directory structure:

find /media/ -type d

/media/
/media/MULTIBOOT
/media/MULTIBOOT/boot
/media/MULTIBOOT/boot/grub2
/media/MULTIBOOT/boot/grub2/locale
/media/MULTIBOOT/boot/iso

So, you are not supposed to edit the file /boot/grub2/grub.cfg file directly and its further suggested that doing this will not work. What I did was to create a new /boot/grub.menu.lst file with the added entries I wanted, just as it used to be setup with grub legacy and then ran the following command:

grub2-menulst2cfg /boot/grub/menu.lst /boot/grub/grub.cfg