Fast machine suddenly has choppy video playback

Hello, I am new to OpenSUSE (and to linux) as of about six months ago, but not to computers. I knew about UNIX in general (basics that is) and its shells (sh ash bash crash) but not much, and nothing about gnome/kde front ends. I’ve been educating myself, but bear with me if I overlook something obvious :slight_smile:

Okay, anyway: the machine : 2600MHz, Phenom II x3 (4th core can be enabled, I often run it this way, it’s stable and does not affect problem)
4gigs ram, onboard ATI (radeonHD I believe) graphics
running OpenSUSE 64-bit with KDE on top

the problem : beginning about 4 days ago, resizing a window with a video playback results in rapidly increasing dropping of frames, esp during moments of rapid motion on the picture; during these times wide horizontal bands become apparent. At fullscreen it is extreme. Audio track is generally unaffected.
During these times System Activity reports that process “Xorg” is using all the resources of one of the cores (ie, 25% or 33%) and that its size has increased dramatically to over 120k from ~75k. System responsiveness is quite sluggish as long as a large window showing motion picture is visible on screen. Before this machine could playback an .iso beautifully fullscreen at 1920x1080 while copying a DVD to another .iso, WHILE Firefox ran in the background, doing whatever, and it did not show hardly any lag; in short, it was a beast, and now it’s wimpy.

occurs during playback of files locally and via Internet (ie, DVD in drive, .iso on HDD, .flv from Hulu or youtube etc.); occurs under multiple apps (Kaffeine, Firefox/Adobe)

I have been simply okaying everything kupdater applet has wanted to install; these had been the only software changes before the problem.