External NTFS USB drive not accessible by Windows

I’ve been using it for a couple of years, it has been mounted various ways and into various places, for the past year under Suse 11.2

Suddenly I discover that it’s not accessible in Windows anymore. Drive gets an assigned letter but can’t be opened. Tried on Windows 7 and Windows Xp.

This is the current fstab line:

/dev/disk/by-id/usb-Seagate_FreeAgentDesktop_3QK0A0N7-0:0-part1 /home/stan/Seagate ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.UTF-8 0 0

Drive is owned by the root but permissions are set for everybody.

This is ls -l line for it’s mount point

drwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8192 2010-07-16 21:48 Seagate

Another weird thing about it is that if I try to copy a folder into it Dolphin gives me “can’t create directory” error and then hangs. If I restart Dolpin I see that the folder has been created just fine and I can copy anything into this new folder without any problems, including creating any sub-folders.

That weirdness doesn’t exist if I run Dolphin as a superuser.

I would create a separate thread for this issue if there’s no connection.

For now I believe something screwed up the part where Windows reads what file system it is.

Is there a way to “unscrew” it and make sure that NTFS looks ok to Windows, too?

Backing up 750 GB drive and reformatting it is not an option in the near future and I occasionally need to take the drive and plug it into friends’ Windows. Today was embarrassing.

ran chkdisk on windows?
What does windows say? Not formatted? Someting useful?

Also, open a terminal on linux and see if there is an fsck command for ntfs (I don’t think there will be, and I’d use windows own one in preference anyway).
It’d probably be called fsck.ntfs

Oh, problem solved.