Extending a volume group with currently unallocated space?

Hello,

I installed OpenSuse 11.0 late last year and I left little less than half of my drive unallocated. The idea was to install Windows Vista there later. However, I installed Vista to VirtualBox and it seems to work well enough there so I don’t think I will proceed with a “native” install for now anyway.

Since half of the drive is now unused I would like to reclaim this unallocated space to Linux. I’m using LVM and assuming that it can be done.

Before I start playing around with the partitioning tools, I would be grateful if someone could have a look at my “plan” as there is a good chance of wiping everything and I’ve never done this before.

My current partition table as listed by fdisk -l is as follows:

Device      Boot      Start    End         Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1       9           72261   83  Linux
/dev/sda2              10   71807       576717435   8e  Linux LVM

I was thinking of the following:

1. Create a new partition starting from 71708 to the end of the drive

2. Initialize the partition for use by LVM (YaST2 or pvcreate directly)

3. Extend the existing volume group with the physical volume (partition) created in step 1 using vgextend, if not possible using YaST2 (LVM Configuration / Add Volume?)

4. Adjust the logical volumes as necessary so that the new space is used.

Hopefully I’m not totally off the track - this is my first Linux installation with LVM.

Help is greatly appreciated,

nissu

I’m slightly puzzled as to what you are trying to do; normally you create a Volume Group containing certain physical disks; you then create logical volumes within that group.

Are you saying that you have a Volume Group within which you have only created logical volumes for part of the Volume Group? If so, there shouldn’t be a problem in creating more logical volumes within that Volume Group.

Ok, I’m trying to clarify my question a bit.