Error loading operating system. Help please.

I’ve downloaded the latest version OpenSuse, burnt it to DVD and installed it successfully, apparently.

It worked fine for a while, an hour or so, and then suddenly froze/locked up while configuring Firefox… So I do a restart, without the DVD, and get “Error loading operating system”.

PC is 2008 Winfast AMD XM2420 Dual core 4200 AM2, with 2GB ram, 160GB hard drive. Bought to use as a dedicated Linux machine. I tried Ubuntu and had exactly the same problem. Worked fine off the CD, but remove it and I get the same error. I’m a total beginner in reality and after a month of frustration I need some basic help I think!

Opensuse worked so well for the short time it lasted, and I’d really like to get it working properly.

I don’t mind fresh re-installs if necessary, since I have no personal data to lose. My other PC (a good job this one works…) has Ubuntu working well in a modest partition, which is why I got the second PC to try it without Windows. Yet Ubuntu would not boot after install on my ‘new’ machine. Opensuse seems to be the same. Won’t boot. So I wonder if it is a problem with the dedicated machine? Bios maybe?

How do I test it/get an audit in Opensuse?
My brain is porridge at the moment…

Any help/advice will be greatly appreciated at 05:30 in the morning!

First thoughts: This could well be due to a faulty HDD. Did you buy this computer second-hand?

I did buy this second hand, and did initially suspect a faulty hard drive, but I did a check on the HD during the installation procedure and it said OK. I was considering buying a second HD but when it came up OK I thought it was actually good.
How do I properly check the hard drive within Opensuse?

This is what confuses me with Linux. In XP or Vista I can use Belarc or Speccy to get a thorough audit, but neither seem to be available without windows.

I would consider booting from a LiveCD or DVD, then run badblocks or similar.