Dual Monitors Sax test works, reboot broken

So I have a dual monitor set up (extended desktop), it works in XP, then I dual boot into OpenSUSE 11 configure Sax2, the test works just fine,. Save the configuration restart the graphics system (init 3, then back with init 5) and here starts the trouble.

I get the left half on one screen to display the desktop/windows/menus, but the right half and the entire second screen is black. The kicker is that the mouse can be seen on both screens over the black even.

Any ideas? If any info more info is needed please let me know.

Thanks!
ToyMakerII

well after some playing around, I went to runlevel 3 ran startx and KDE started up working just fine (extended desktop and everything). exit, tried gnome, and no joy. now sax2 wont even start

quick question from me. I am a newbie so i my help offerings are limited.

1. What video card do you have, Nvidia, Ati?

2. Did you install all the updates before playing around with settings? I had various problems with the dual monitor setup (see my post: Sluggish response with Dual monitor setup when moving items - openSUSE Forums ) and after performing an update and following the steps to install ATI drivers and get fglrx working they were sorted.

3. Do you backup your xorg.conf file before changes so you can go back to last good state?

cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup

this way if something goes wrong you can always log into a terminal and restore the backup and start testing again.

1. malcomlewis advised me to upgrade to KDE 4.1 in my post because 4.0 is not as stable. You may want to do the same (provided you can get it working again wihtout reinstlling)