Dual-Boot w/Linux Query

Hi all,

I’m very new to linux and completely new to openSuse so forgive me if this question has been asked and answered many times before. I have been running Ubuntu (latest release) for just over a week now and have enjoyed it overall. The biggest caveat being it seems a tad sluggish. Anyway, I want to try OpenSuse as well and hope to create a dual boot setup. Using the OpenSuse live CD can I do this without knowing a lot of technical details or are there some things I need to know first?

From looking around on the forums it looks like it should setup just fine but I wanted to be sure prior to getting started. Thanks in advance!

As you said:

OpenSuse 11.x does its job perfectly to install and maintain a dual boot grub. So you will see a start menu which lets you change to Ubuntu. There, again, you get ubuntu’s own grub start menu again. Ubuntu HardyHeron leaves the grub installation alone, which is always an issue at kernel updates, which are entered as an additional choice into the grub menu.

Also, take care of correct drive paths in ubuntu’s grub menu and in /etc/fstab as well. Usually the path is shown in the grub entries like

boot (hd**m,n**)
root=/dev/disk-by...../part**X**

with m,n corresponds to the disc drive and partition number (counting always starts with 0!) and X is the partition number

In /etc/fstab you may have lines starting with
UUID
This value may alter, when your partition tables are changes (e.g. during installation of Suse). This results in a failure during mounting process.

You should correct the lines in advance of a change of your partititons. So, may be, for your convenience, try to prepare your disks in advance, so you do not have to let SuSe alter the partition table.

Consider two additional partitions, for SuSe / and /home. The swap partition can be used for both Linuxes.

You may use the /home partition for both Linuxes as well. However, this is a nice opportunity to make a big mess.:\

So, go ahead!