Dolphin / Konqueror default "width" issue

I love KDE, it’s so configurable and has so many options.
I hate KDE, it’s too configurable and has too many options.
:wink:

Some how recently my file managers have acquired the habit of opening full width of my screen on the desktop.
Both Konqueror and Dolphin are exhibiting this behavior.
I can open a window and shrink it in the vertical direction and then close the window.
Next time I open the f/m the new window opens back up with exactly the same dimensions in the Y axis.
HOWEVER when I try to reduce the window size in the X axis, for example make the window appear in 1/4 of the screen, and then close that, upon reopening it’s the same size in Y but stretches full width again in X.

Not sure what I’ve done and I’m no novice and have piddled with the preferences in both f/m’s and Configure Desktop, with no change in behavior. Anyone have an idea how to make these file managers do my bidding?

openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64)
KDE: 4.7.2 (4.7.2) “release 5”

Thanks to all for your feedback.

Just for kicks,

Close <all> other windows/apps on your Desktop except an instance of your problem app.

Then, re-size the app so that it’s no larger than half the width and height of your screed (ie 1/4 size of screen or smaller, then re-position it exactly centered far away from any edge.

Close the app, then re-open and see if you still see the same problem.

Possible causes I can think of under normal use

• incorrect display configuration. Like recent Windows, KDE has this “snap to” feature where if the window edge is believed to be touching an edge or corner it will re-size as you described.
  • othe open apps. Ordinarily by ittself should not cause the problem you describe, but I’ve noticed that KDE tries to position new app in empty space on the desktop, so close apps which might push a new app to an edge.