creating 32bit devel packages on x86_64

Hi all,

I’m in the need for a package libtirpc-devel-32bit-0.1.9-4.10. It’s not in the standard repository nor elsewhere to be found.

So being a developer, I tried to spot the information on how to build one myself. But unfortunately, I couldn’t find anything either:

• no search engine (these forums nor whole Internet world) turned up with a helpful document

• checking src.rpms from other openSuSE packages (ie pam_mount) revealed no magic in their spec files.

So here I am and ask you for some pointers or even specific information:

How do I create a “32bit-add-on development package” for a 64bit platform on openSuSE 11.1 and/or SLES10, SLES11?

The goal is to compile a program on 11.1, SLES10, SLES11 (x86_64) that is 32 bit because I need to link to some vendor-specific 32bit library. This already works fine, but now I need to use TI-RPC on top. There are no “-32bit” packages for libtirpc on openSuSE 11.1. I would prefer to stick to the “standards” and have an add-on package like libtirpc-devel-32bit-0.1.9-4.10.rpm rather than recompiling on multiple platforms and merge the results into a single installation.

Thanks for any insight you’re willing to share.

With regards
Jens

Might want to wait for someone who actually does this but if not I can perhaps nudge you in the correct direction…

I can see the odd bit that is biarch in spec for example in the gcc43 src rpm. Now from here rpmbuild(8): Build RPM Package - Linux man page you have showrc give it a run as I’ve only got a Suse 32bit I couldn’t see the compatible build archs that I could use.(Well didn’t really fancy going into a new area and going the other way.)

This raised the issue of --buildarch
rpmbuild Command Reference

Looking at the gcc spec file it seems arch independent and it just has ifs’ to enable them to go to the correct place, and seems to do both if my understanding is correct.

%if %{biarch}
%if %{build_primary_64bit}
%if !%{separate_bi32}