Connecting to wireless router

HI company
I am a newbie to openSuse 11.2 (I have just downloaded and installed it).
My first problem is that when I open KNetworkManager the wireless tab is desibled,I don’t know why!!!
My laptop is HP pavilion dv6-1245DX.
Any one couls help me to get connected to my wireless router?
Thank you at advance

I have the same problem. I think to get help you need to go through the steps in the sticky’s and post the results. [rant: To me it is beginning to look like 11.2|kde has a lot of small problems to sort out; on my desktop I gave up and reinstalled with gnome. Now it is wrestling with wireless on my netbook (which works fine with Ubuntu, XP, and 11.1].

Open a terminal and type the following:

/sbin/lspci -nnk

Post result

Thank you company for all answers,I’ve tried that command but nothing happen just dome info and as you know I;m a newbie to Linux,and also i tried to install Gnome,I found that I can connect to a wireless router but I set all the data of the configuration ,but nothing happened,I also tried to download wireless driver of my laptop from hp site,i found that there is no driver for any linux OS.
I think there is something messing with KDE to support wireless,someone knows the solution?
Thank you

I’ve tried that command but nothing happen just dome info

I’m going out on a limb and assume you mean ‘some’ ?

We need that info to help you. LOL:)

Amirale,

Maybe my experience will be helpful, since I gather from the limited information, I may be experiencing the same problem.

I am now able to connect via the “traditional” method, but I have been totally unsuccessful via Network Manager. I ran across a post of the steps (but I now that I want to reference it I can’t find it!). What I did was:

1. Yast|Network Devices|Network Settings|Global Options tab and change to ifup.
  2. Overview tab, select wireless adapter, Click Edit
  3. Click Next (assuming you want to retain DHCP)