completely new to suse and need help with drivers for radeon HD 6850

Ive been a ubuntu user for about 3 years now, but lately I wanted to find something new. Ubuntu is beginning to feel less and less like “linux”. So anyway I am having a bit of trouble getting my gfx card working in suse. I have a AMD Radeon HD 6850. In ubuntu I just get a popup says that restricted drives are available, and i click to install them. but In suse im not quite sure what to do. I believe I have the drives installed correctly, but I get a AMD watermark in the bottom right corner of my screen saying my hardware is unsupported.

What is the easiest way to get the latest working drivers for my video card? and keep them updated properly with each kernel update like in ubuntu? btw, im running openSUSE 11.4 64-bit.

I know this has been asked before, but im a complete noob to suse and I cant seem to find a answer that im able to understand.

Other than this issue with my graphics driver I love everything else. :slight_smile:

Did you see this
SDB:ATI drivers - openSUSE

Another option:
openSUSE Forums - ATI driver with atiupgrade

OK now I have a bigger issue. I was going to follow the links you posted, but first I wanted to do a fresh install since I messed up the first one pretty good. So I go through the install again, exactly like the first time. However, now when I select openSUSE from GRUB (Desktop or Fail safe) either option brings me to a full screen terminal with a text based log-in prompt. If i log-in here it just gives me a message saying “Have fun” and it sends me to a terminal prompt. I take it X isn’t loading or Im still having driver issues.

I’m really wanting to give openSUSE an honest shot, and I’m trying not to bash it for the issues im having. All distributions seem to be having issues with this card at the moment, however SUSE is the only distribution where I have yet to get this card working, and now I cant even get into my fresh install.