chroot jail for sftp

Can anyone point me to a how-to for a recent version of Linux (such as Opensuse 11.x) to do this? The ones I’ve been running across online are all older, and require that you install a “jail” application to do this. I know that the newest version of Linux don’t require this, but I’m fuzzy on the details.

I’ve already got one user set so that he can ONLY use sftp, but I’d like to jail him into his /home directory as well.

Thanks in advance …

I am still learning, but I use vsftpd for FTP and there is a command entered into the vsftpd.conf file that does that:

chroot_local_user=YES

I hope this helps.

I assume you mean sftp over ssh. To construct a chroot jail requires a specially hacked version of sftp. It can’t be done with the stock version. You can find any of a number of patches on the net that will do this. That was the situation when I looked it it about a couple of years ago. Perhaps the ssh people have introduced this feature since I looked, that I can’t say.

Yes, I was referring to the stock version of OpenSSH that ships with Opensuse. We don’t use “standard” FTP in any form.

Thanks. I’ll keep looking. The (minor) difficulty is that I have to be able to do all of this via ssh, because the server

You can substitute a different sftp server without messing with the ssh server since sftp is an add-on system.

For security and complexity reasons, I’d prefer not to do that. My source on that is O’Reilly’s “Building Secure Servers With Linux.” :slight_smile: (Plus, personal opinion, I admit it.)

I did yet still another Google search. This fellow:

HOWTO: chroot SFTP (only) - Index

… says that starting with OpenSSH 4.9, the capability to chroot is built in to the subsystem. I tried to follow the instructions for “OpenSSH versions 4.9 Upwards” (link near the bottom of the page), but I’ve missed something. The user can’t login at all. I’m getting this in the logs: