Can't install dual-boot system

I’m a complete linux newbie, trying to get my first linux system going. I’m having a lot of difficulty trying to install a dual boot system with Windows 10. I’ve spent many hours today reading as much as I could, trying lots of things but I’ve finally conceded that I cannot figure this out by myself.

The issue is basically the partition setup wants to delete the Windows partition that’s already on there. I read that it’s important to install Windows first, then Opensuse. I believe in the past when I’ve tried this, on a different PC, it gave me the option to simply shrink my current Windows partition, but that option hasn’t been presented to me this time. One thing I tried was using a Windows tool to shrink the partition there, then formatting it to NTFS. Then, I’ve used the expert partition tab to try and install Opensuse on the partition that I’ve made.

I’ve tried many different things, and feel it’s not worth mentioning it all. Here are the consistent error messages that I get, no matter what I do:

“You have not assigned a root partition for installation. This does not work. Assign the root mount point “/” to a partition.”

"Warning: With your current setup, your Opensuse installation will encounter problems when booting, because you have no FAT partition mounted on /boot/efi.

This will cause severe problems with the normal boot setup.

If you do not know exactly what are you doing, use a normal FAT partition for your files below /boot/efi."

"Warning: With your current setup, your installation will encounter problems when booting, because the disk on which your /boot partition is located does not contain a GPT disk label.

It will probably not be possible to boot such a setup.

If you need to use this disk for installation, you should destroy the disk label in the expert partitioner."

"You have not assigned a swap partition. In most cases, we highly recommend to create and assign a swap partition.