Can't get squid to start automatically

I have just installed squid and sarg, both are working well.

I cannot get squid to start when the machine boots. I installed webmin and configured the setup through the webmin interface where I checked the “start at boot option”.

I think the problem is that my network card responsible for the web connection is wireless so when squid tries to load during boot it is trying before the Wireless card is up and so it fails.

I have tried multiple methods of adding a script to the “dispatcher.d” folder in “NetworkManager” to load squid after wlan0 is up but all have failed to bring up the squid proxy without my interaction. I have not found any two sites that describe the syntax for “dispatcher.d” alike so I may have the command wrong but I have no idea what to do.

I probably have 20 hours trying to get this service to run automatically and no luck. I am new to Linux so help that is explained it a way that I can understand how to apply it is hard to find.

Has anyone figured out a way to automatically execute a simple command (/etc/init.d/.squid start) after a regular user’s desktop is fully up?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I am running OpenSuse 11.2
Thank you fore looking!

You should enable start at boot using YaST. webmin may not understand the openSUSE way of doing things. I don’t know why people want to use webmin for this sort of thing when it’s supported in YaST.

squid should start fine even if you don’t have a network connection but you may have to provide a server name corresponding to the IP address it’s listening on. Look in the logs in /var/log/squid for clues after you have set it up to start at boot.