Cannot start GNOME with 4GB RAM

Hi,

I am a beginner of Linux. Last week, I upgrade my PC to 4GB RAM then install openSUSE 11 but it failed. The screen turn into blank just after the installation started. After I removed 2GB RAM, the installation completed finally. But, as I reinstalled the additional 2GB RAM(4GB RAM total), the GNOME cannot start, and I get a blank screen. The system seem to be running as the harddisk keep loading but I am not sure as the screen is blank.

I guess the problem is caused by memory share of the on broad display card.

Would you please help?

Thanks.

just a wild guess:

install all the ram, pop in the install CD and let it boot…

instead of selecting install, select Memory Test (or memtest, i forget
how it is worded) and let it run at least 12 hours…

if you have any errors, you know where the problem lies…

DenverD (Linux Counter 282315)
A Texan in Denmark

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. I tested the RAM 2 days before as your suggestion. Although not as 12 hrs test but as 3 hrs. There is no errors for the RAM.

Thanks!

ok…but, sorry i just don’t have the technical capability to trouble
shoot your problem past “it MUST be a memory problem”…hopefully a
REAL guru will come along and help.

in the mean time, you could take out 2 GB and enjoy the Gnome you
installed…

(i mean, i know that OS that begins with a V needs a PILE of ram, but my
10.3 runs GREAT in 1 GB!!)

in fact, if you installed 4 gig to help hobbled V, compare V in 4 to
Gnome in 2 and tell me who boots fastest and is more “snappy” !!

A Texan in Denmark

Is this a laptop?

Is it 2 @ 2 Gb DIMMs or something else? Will the system boot using each DIMM all by itself or does it fail with one specific DIMM? If the latter, you’ve isolated your bad DIMM.

Is your CPU 64-bit or 32-bit? If 64-bit, which OpenSUSE are you installing, 64 or 32-bit? This shouldn’t matter, but may be nice to know.