Cannot connect to internet with openSUSE 13.1 dual boot machine

Hello all,

I have a former Windows XP only desktop that I converted to a dual-boot machine some time ago. I have not attempted to access the Internet with it until now.

I am having no success with getting openSUSE to connect. I have viewed some videos about doing this via YaST, but my panels do not match the panels as they appear on the video.

Can someone please point me to a clear resource for resolving this issue? I am an experienced Windows user, but I am a complete novice with openSUSE.

Thank you in advance.

Are you trying to connect via wired or wireless connection? Wireless may be harder if firmware or a proprietary driver is required. Provide more details about your network hardware.

/usr/sbin/hwinfo --netcard

You can use a memory stick to transfer the output (copy/paste to a file) to a machine/OS with a working internet connection.

BTW, when you are finally online, I would really recommend upgrading to a currently supported openSUSE version, where security patches are available.

https://en.opensuse.org/SDB:System_upgrade

13.1 is a currently supported openSUSE version, where security patches are available, and in fact is the Evergreen version.:wink:

Which desktop are you using? KDE, or Gnome?

Thanks to all for replying.

I am using a wired connection and the KDE desktop.

Sorry, you’re quite right…but only until November it would seem?

https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Evergreen

Here is the info I found when running the command supplied by Fraser_Bell. I apologize for the formatting.