can i have info about the structure

Hi, i’m quite new to linux and i barely know any console commands or anything… i had to look up the command to delete a folder (add -r to the rm command, right?) and thus i struggle quite a lot when using the console.

now, sometimes i have to copy/paste/remove files from the file system (which is every map under “/” except for “home”) but it’s a real pain if you don’t know enough commands. and it gets even worse if you get lost in this maze of folders, really…

commands can be looked up and learned easily, but could someone PLEASE explain me how “stuff works” down there? (there’s a “lib” folder in like almost every subfolder and i see both a “home” and a “usr” folder while i thought usr was short for user :S)

thanks.

happy holidays all!!

Joris

PS: im gone for 6 days but when i return i’ll thank you all :smiley:

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Command - Information
cp - copy
mv - move/rename
ls - list (files)… like dir… I think Linux even has a ‘dir’ now for
people who come from windows-land
cat - print a file’s contents (same as ‘type’)

There are a lot of beginner guides online as well that may help you.

Good luck.

joris20 wrote:
> Hi, i’m quite new to linux and i barely know any console commands or
> anything… i had to look up the command to delete a folder (add -r to
> the rm command, right?) and thus i struggle quite a lot when using the
> console.
>
> now, sometimes i have to copy/paste/remove files from the file system
> (which is every map under “/” except for “home”) but it’s a real pain if
> you don’t know enough commands. and it gets even worse if you get lost
> in this maze of folders, really…
>
> commands can be looked up and learned easily, but could someone PLEASE
> explain me how “stuff works” down there? (there’s a “lib” folder in like
> almost every subfolder and i see both a “home” and a “usr” folder while
> i thought usr was short for user :S)
>
> thanks.
>
>
> happy holidays all!!
>