boot loader installation help - SUSE 10.1

Hi all, I’m a newbie and need some help.

I recently decided to make the move to Linux, specifically SUSE Linux. Wanting to avoid problems, I decided the best way to make the switch would be by buying a book that would help me install and get up and running.

Reviewing a few books, I decided to purchase: “Beginning SUSE Linux, Second Edition” by Keir Thomas. Along with the book came a DVD containing openSUSE 10.1

To give you a little background on my system… I have two (pretty sure they are IDE) hard drives. The first hard drive has Windows 2000 and my aim was to put Linux on the second allowing me to dual boot.

Following the step-by-step installation instructions, everything seemed to be going well. However, towards the end of the install (before reaching the screen asking to set-up a root password) I got some sort of boot loader error.

I did a reboot with the SUSE 10.1 DVD in the drive, and in the installation screen picked “other” with the aim of repairing the install.

After the system check I receive the following error message:

"boot loader error detected
the following configuration files cannot be found:

installing a new boot loader is recommended
if you are sure your system boots correctly, it is not necessary to reinstall the boot loader otherwise, press repair to install a new boot loader"

No files were listed. I know that the boot loader was not working correctly because with the DVD removed it was only booting Windows 2000. So, I clicked repair as it suggested.

Then I got the following messages:

“check boot loader configuration
installing new boot loader… FAILED
new boot loader installation was not successful
searching configuration files… ERROR
the following configuration files were not found:”

No files are listed and then the initial error window reappears saying the same thing as before about the boot loader error detected etc…