Boot Loader Error (dual boot with xp)

Hi,

I’m new to the whole linux scene.
I thought it was time to try something new on my pc.
I’ve downloaded Linux openSuse11.1.
I’ve used all standard installation settings, except for the language part then :wink:
All went fine, untill the last part of the installation, when it was installing the boot loader.
It said not installed, partition not found.
So I tried several times, but then after a while,i just said, do not retry.
So the result, when trying to boot it says no operating system found… (like lol, i had xp installed ??)
But whatever I said I wont give up.
Booted from the dvd again, and went in the repair mode.
It says problems found, ofc. At the bootloader, but guess what it wasnt fixed. It keeps saying partition not found?
(at the section manager)(a small overview)
Label:
Suse Linux
Type:
Section summary:
append= repair=1 resume=/dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3300822A_5NF1GAS4-part5 splash=silent showopts, image=/boot/initrd, root=/(pract, the same unless part 6), vgamode=0x348
then u have the fail safe thingy.

any idea’s whats wrong with it ?
of something is not clear or dont understand, or need more information plz ask ^^

tried with lilo failed aswell, says not supported now

hi,
did you installed linux in logical partition or you left it shoose the installation partition?

No, it was a clean install a standard once. I’ve let suse diside for the partitions.

Mayby it’s better that I reinstall linxus when I get home.

but remember to let it live on its own partition(the one you provide your self) don’t let it shoose it automaticaly so you can remove it if needed