ASUS A3A sound and screen size

Hi everyone, I’m a newbie
I cannot get sound out of my ASUS A3A and the screen font size is awfully large with huge icons. How do I adjust thes please

treid the audio trouble-shooting guide ? if not, find it here SDB:AudioTroubleshooting - openSUSE

Andy

thank you deltaflyer. I’ve finally found how to turn up the speakers but still cannot get the DVD/CD player to mount. Struggling hererotfl!

I see you finally got sound working:
ASUS A3A sound and screen size - openSUSE Forums

Reference your screen font, this is highly dependant on the desktop you use, and you must supply that information to get help. ie KDE3 ? KDE4 ? Gnome? It also helps if you advise as to the openSUSE version. ie 10.3 ? 11.0 ? Since this can also be graphic driver related (albeit not likely) you could also advise as to your graphic hardware in your Asus.

Apologies - I messed up my public and private response to you.

NNTP users will be somewhat surprised by my earlier post. Please ignore comments about private postings.

I think I might be beating this folk.
Well, booting and rebooting is good 'cos I’ve finally got the CD/DVD drive to register and YaST Control Centre tells me that I have a TS-L532A on (/dev/sr0)with Device Names
/dev/sr0
/dev/scd0
/dev/disk/by-path/pci-0000:00:1f.1-scsi0:0:1:0
/dev/cdrom/
/dev/cdrw/
/dev/dvd/
dev/dvdrw
… but now when I insert a music DVD it won’t play.Instead I get a message from Amorak that there are no devices available and that I need to configure my media devices. OK…so? I go to the Amorak handbook and click on the icon and it says it cannot access the KDE help Centre. Big help that one.