Assembly Language Programming

I’m looking for recommendations for an Assembler programming editor/ide etc. for pc assembly language. Is there an assembler packaged with openSuSe 11.3? I’m trying to set up a programming environment similar to MASM32 under Windows. I’ve tried NASM but it only provides a command line interface. If that’s my only option so be it. Just wondering what the community thinks and/or uses.
Thanks,
bj

Is your goal to learn assembly language irrespective of CPU? If so there are IDEs and simulators for various microcontrollers.

As for x86* assembly language, only a handful of people need to do this sort of thing, people writing libraries, machine emulators, media processing, tight number crunching code. For the vast majority of people there’s no reward in it.

I’m an IBM Mainframe systems programmer writing in assembler. My love of the language and curiosity of ‘how things work’ leads me to explore PC assembler. Following getting footed in assembler, I plan on moving to C/C++. Are you suggesting I skip the assembler?

Yes, C is the system language for Unix/Linux. The system call API is specified for C and you’ll actually have a harder time trying to map that back to assembler.

I seem to remember that there’s a way of using gcc with assembler code. However, the assembler language supported is a bit different from that of MASM. It’s been a few years, so I have forgotten the details.

Try a google search for “intel assembler gcc” (without the quotes) and see what turns up.

You can insert inline assembly code into gcc. The syntax will be that of gas. And of course if you know the linkage conventions, you can write code for gas and compile to object files.

You can try ‘as’.

For tools - I use vim for a lot a stuff, but I also don’t write assembly :slight_smile:

Btw, one can use gcc and it’s inline assembly even with “intel syntax”, something like:

/* 32bi compile as follow:
 * gcc -o intelsyntax -nostdlib -masm=intel intelsyntax.c
 */