Another Nvidia driver problem!

G,day
I have just installed the nvidia driver (173.14.12-0.1) through yast.
I rebooted my system just to be on the safe side but the driver wasn’t being used. After having a look at other nvidia problems I tried “sax2 -r -m 0=nvidia” (after init 3).
Sax2 started its own xserver etc. It came up with the wrong resolution so I adjusted it to the correct resolution and then tested it.
Somehow the resolution was worse than before.

I have tried a manual (hard way) install of the latest driver (that ended with a new install of opensuse 11).

Any help would be appreciated. I am a bit of a noob with the command line (I have only been able to edit the xorg.config file with kate in the past).

My system is:-
Intel E7200
2G ram
Nvidia GeForce 7600 GT
System: openSUSE 11.0 (x86_64)
KDE: 4.1.3 (KDE 4.1.3) “release 51.1”

Thanks for your time.

As a first step, have you installed the nvidia-settings (Nvidia X Server Settings) application? Its also in Yast. Install and run it - it will tell you about the driver, openGL settings and X configuration. It should not be necessary to reinstall the system just to get the nvidia driver to work - at the most all you should have to do is log out and back in again.
Can you tell us how you established that the driver wasn’t being used after you installed it with Yast?

Thanks for the quick reply.
I tried glxgears. It just came up with errors.

Xlib: extension “GLX” missing on display “:0.0”.
glxgears: Error: couldn’t get an RGB, Double-buffered visual.

I do have nvidia-settings installed. This is what I got from it.

You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run nvidia-xconfig as root), and restart the X server

I just tried to run nvidia-xconfig, I’ll just restart the xserver and see what has happened

O.k, things have turned ugly!

After restarting the xserver I have a stretched screen. It looks like the screen resolution is 640x480!