all I want is a static ip

I am a network admin for a school. I am interested in Opensuse because of the education repository that hopefully will make installing openbiblio easy. It requires a static ip address. After a successful install of the OS, I go into Yast>Network Devices>Network Settings. Under overview, I click edit and change the ip address from dhcp to static. But, after… no internet. What can I do to figure this out? Thanks.

once you’ve given the device a static i.p. you must also give it the default route/gateway address

Andy

There may be some help here
HowTo Configure a network card in Suse/openSUSE 10, 11 for LAN and Internet Access.

n00b question: How do you deal with the DNS addresses? It’s something you don’t have to do with DHCP. A few times I wanted to do this but I don’t know the addresses.
n00b idea: Is it the same as the gateway, as I don’t have a direct connection (whatever this means) to my provider?

Sorry I explain it so badly, am in a hurry to catch a plane.

Hope this reply is not too late.

My approach to finding your DNA addresses, would to be configure your nic for DHCP and then record the DNS values you get :slight_smile:

EDIT: Look at /etc/resolve.conf

Then re-configure for static IP and use the DNS addresses obtained above.

Cheers

You will also want the static address on the same subnet as the rest of you network, or at least the gateway. Be careful to not set address to one in the scope of DHCP, or you may run into a conflict.

Hello,

Here is a shortlist :stuck_out_tongue: of what to do configuring a Static Address.

First,
Open Yast > Network Devices > Network Settings.
Verify you only have one logical device and is likely configured for DHCP. Oftentimes, when moving a VM around or connecting to a different network the YAST boot auto-discovery creates a new, unconfigured logical device while the old device which no longer works still exists (IMO is an irritating YAST bug, it doesn’t exist in other distros I’ve used).