Alienware R3 + Tumbleweed = install issue

Hi all,

I’m new here, but not quite so new to Linux - I’ve been running a Mint machine for a couple of years, and thought I’d move up to OpenSuSe.

This has proven less straightforward than I thought. My new Alienware R3 is fitted with an M2 SSD on which Windows resides and is the primary disk; I wish to install Tumbleweed onto another M.2 SSD (a Samsung NVMe). Installation progress is excruciatingly slow, and it hangs at the “Preparing Disks” stage, with the HD LED flashing for all it’s worth. I gave it more than 20 minutes but there was no discernible progress. I’ve tried several times, and it hangs at the same stage.

The same ISO installed fine on my old machine, in a VirtualBox; on my Alienware, I have successfully installed other Mint releases (takes about 3-4 minutes), and Kubuntu as well.

Is there something I can try, because current Mint distributions don’t like the Killer networking that’s in the new mahcine and I have to jump through a few hoops to get it up and running? TW copes fresh from the box. (I tried a live install first.)

Many thanks for any help.

Michael P

I had the same issue with the latest tumbleweed (03062016) and the one before (02062016) with the install hanging on preparing discs - so I suspect it is not a problem with yur computer.

Thanks for the reply. My conclusion too, particularly after further investigation reveals this to be an uncommon but long-running issue, usually with a dual-boot system and because the installer is fiddling with (Windows) partition sizes. I’m happy to devote my entire 256GB drive to TW. Maybe the installer sometimes has an issue with being given an entire drive to play with.

My preference is to give TW a try, but for now I have a fully-functional Mint-KDE on my machine, which allows me to be productive.