12.1: fun issues with kdeinit4/kded

Sorry to add on to the piles of questions, I’ll try to keep this one brief. I upgraded to 12.1 last night. Everything seemed to have gone smoothly, except that when KDE started up I was greeted with a friendly little error message announcing that kdeinit4 had encountered a segmentation fault. (Wouldn’t you know it, I’ve been using different flavors of Linux since 2006, openSUSE since March 2010, and not once have I had a version upgrade go completely without issue. Still beats the heck out of Windows though!)

Here’s what I found in dmesg:

kded4[7214]: segfault at 0 ip 00007f586539d1c8 sp 00007fff9c9cc300 error 4 in libsolidcontrolnm09.so.4.7.0[7f586538c000+1d000]

Here’s what I get when starting kdeinit4 from a terminal:

~$ kdeinit4
kdeinit4: Shutting down running client.
Connecting to deprecated signal QDBusConnectionInterface::serviceOwnerChanged(QString,QString,QString)
Object::connect: No such signal QDBusAbstractInterface::StateChanged(uint)
kbuildsycoca4 running...
kded(6587) Kded::loadModule: Could not load library "kded_synaptiks" .  "Das Modul „kded_synaptiks“ für die Anwendung „kded“ kann nicht gefunden werden." ] 
QObject::connect: Cannot connect (null)::deviceFound(Device*) to BlueDevilDaemon::deviceFound(Device*)
QObject::connect: Cannot connect QTimer::timeout() to (null)::stopDiscovery()
kded(6587) LayoutMemoryPersister::restoreFromFile: Failed to open layout memory xml file for reading "/home/[username]/.kde4/share/apps/kded/session/keyboard/layout_memory.xml" error: 5 
QFSFileEngine::open: No file name specified
KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/bin/kded4 from kdeinit
sock_file=/home/[username]/.kde4/socket-[computername]/kdeinit4__0
kded(6586): Communication problem with  "kded" , it probably crashed. 
Error message was:  "org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply" : " "Message did not receive a reply (timeout by message bus)" " 

KCrash: Application 'kded4' crashing...