12.1 64 bit won't boot

I’ll start by saying I’m a linux noob, so please excuse my ignorance! I tried to install it from a DVD, and everything seemed ok until it said something along the lines of “changing to text-based installation, graphics card may not be supported” when it went in to the Configuration section of the install. I let it finish, and it came up with the command line so i rebooted. Up came the GRUB and I chose the Desktop option, but it got stuck on the OpenSUSE splash screen. So i rebooted, chose the Failsafe option this time and it froze at (something like):

booting /windows/C
[long number]HDMI Status: codec=0  pin=5  presence-detect=0  ELD_Valid=0

I’m dual-booting with 64-Bit Windows 7, my graphics card is an nVidia GeForce GTX460.

Any help is greatly appreciated! :slight_smile:

Here is a copy from a recent article on the subject. You most likely need to use the nomodeset kernel load option as shown below:

1st thing to try (nomodeset)

• The 1st thing to try
    is to boot from grub with boot code: nomodeset . This is per the guidance in the openSUSE-12.1 release notes. ie in grub’s option line enter:

nomodeset
New users, to explain better for you, please note you enter this boot code in the very first openSUSE menu you see when you switch ON your PC. Just start typing and you will see the letters for ‘nomodeset’ appear in the options line of the menu.
http://en.opensuse.org/images/thumb/8/8f/Nomodeset-example.jpg/200px-Nomodeset-example.jpg](File:Nomodeset-example.jpg - openSUSE Wiki) http://en.opensuse.org/skins/common/images/magnify-clip.png](File:Nomodeset-example.jpg - openSUSE Wiki)
Boot with nomodeset boot code

Then after entering that, press <enter> and let your PC boot. Hopefully that will be sufficient and you will have a functional desktop at that time. The openSUSE-12.1 release notes provide more detail, especially on how to make this permanent.