11.3 on x64 not a good experience

After installing 11.3 my first problem was no Wacom support. This is a major problem for me as I’m a photographer. I saw other posts on the subject so was hopeful that someone would get on the case.

Yesterday I had a kernel update and after all the updates, I rebooted.

The splash screen appeared for a few seconds and then a black screen. No X11. No virtual ttys. I sshed in and found some updates still outstanding (why?) so I applied those and rebooted. Still got a black screen.

Sshed in again and saw messages (not errors) relating to Wacom tablet in the X11 logs. Unplugged the Wacom and rebooted. Bingo. Everything came up.

I plugged the Wacom back in, half hoping that maybe there had been updates in this area but it STILL doesn’t work.

What are the plans to get the Wacom software working again, please?

At the moment, GIMP crashes almost instantly if I try to use the Wacom tablet with it. Serious headache. I have a backlog of work that I need a working tablet for. I’ll need to switch distros if it doesn’t get fixed soon.

(Intel i7, 6 core, 12GB RAM, nVidia, Wacom Intuos 3)

The new kernel update (update to 2.6.34.4, version 3038) is a mind-numbing disaster that will send your blood pressure soaring into the stratosphere, and so far no one has any fixes for it other than to start all over and reinstall 11.3, being careful NOT to accept the kernel update. The symptoms you describe are repeated in this forum by the score, and there are hundreds more just like them scattered across the Web. Other symptoms: your bootloader will get trashed, either not appearing at all or only allowing you to boot into Windows, with all other choices removed.

I know this isn’t much help, but the only advice I have is to avoid it like the plague. Whoever is running the update database needs to remove this update and replace it with one that doesn’t completely hose formerly stable systems in a variety of unpleasant ways.