[11.0]PPC - Installer halted when activating ieee1394

Hello, whenever i run the installer i reach a standstill when it tries to activate my firewire ports

i believe i know the problem, a while back my built-in firewire ports fried during a power outage… and now i use i use hardware requiring a firewire port with a card carrying 2 firewire ports inside my computer…

however, i have not found any solution to this… help would be greatly appreciated

…also, this is my first time installing a linux distro

Are you just running the default installer or have to tried other options

help here
Installation Help - openSUSE

eg: Installation - ACPI Disabled - This will disable the Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI). If your computer encounters any problems during installation, try this setting.

or
I think under the video tab at the bottom of the boot splash, there is an option for text
try that

i have tried it with ACPI disabled, no luck

i am not sure what this “video” option is, also

i am not sure what this “video” option is, also
At the boot screen there are tabs across the bottom F1 F2… and so on
I think F3 is the video tab
When you access it there are screen display options like 1024x768
but also ‘text’

In fact on that help page I gave you at this section
Installation Help - openSUSE

it says: “If the graphical boot menu doesn’t show or freezes, try press and hold Shift on the keyboard when booting the installation media. This starts the text-mode boot menu instead.”

I have not tried it but assume it does the same as I describe above.

Text mode is a little less simple to work, but if you can use a keyboard, you should be fine.

You might want to check here for info on PPC
HOWTOs - openSUSE

It won’t even let me go into text mode… after typing “install” and holding down “shift” i just get a read error…

perhaps i am doing it wrong, or maybe i just need to replace my firewire ports somehow…

thank you for your help

post some specs on your pc