Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    844

    Default Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

    I am running KDE Plasma on TW on a desktop PC with AMD integrated graphics. Just recently after an issue of my own making (managed to mount two disks with same label but not any system ones and PC crashed) it messed up my settings. Now I have got it 99% back as I want I am still left with a strange effect when switching virtual desktops by manually clicking on the one I want. As it switches between seeing the old and new desktop programs (which are in full screen on both virtual desktops) the desktop background flashes up noticeably and is rather annoying, now this did not happen before my self inflicted screw up and does not happen on my Laptop which also runs TW KDE Plasma and has Intel integrated graphics.

    Any suggestions on what might have happened I thought I had all settings back as I wanted but maybe I've missed something?

    Stuart

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    4,280
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

    Was emptying ~/.cache/ while logged out of Plasma part of your reconstruction? Strange things can happen when cache gets out of sync with settings.
    Reg. Linux User 211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.4, TW, 15.1 & 13.1 on Haswell @earthlink.net
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2) &15.4 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: Debian, Fedora, Mageia, more on Rocket Lake & older Intel, AMD, NVidia....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    844

    Default Re: Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Was emptying ~/.cache/ while logged out of Plasma part of your reconstruction? Strange things can happen when cache gets out of sync with settings.
    No it rebooted OK just with some things messed up.

    Stuart

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    4,280
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

    Quote Originally Posted by broadstairs View Post
    No it rebooted OK just with some things messed up.
    Next time, do it. Plasma easily gets confused by a cache that doesn't match up with restored settings.
    Reg. Linux User 211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.4, TW, 15.1 & 13.1 on Haswell @earthlink.net
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2) &15.4 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: Debian, Fedora, Mageia, more on Rocket Lake & older Intel, AMD, NVidia....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,402

    Default Re: Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

    Toggle the compositor off using Alt-Shift-F12 and see if it still does it.

    If it doesn't:
    Then take a look at the desktop effects "System Settings -> Workspace Behaviour -> Desktop Effects" to see if anything in there has been enabled for the Virtual Desktops. (I tend to avoid "Desktop Effects" like the plague, but occasionally KDE developers add a new effect and tend to enable it by default.)

    If it does still do it with compositing off:
    I'm afraid suggestions are very thin on the ground...

    Either way, you can switch compositing back on again using Alt-Shift-F12
    Regards, Paul

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    844

    Default Re: Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Next time, do it. Plasma easily gets confused by a cache that doesn't match up with restored settings.
    By emptying ~/.cache do you mean the whole directory or just those parts referring to plasma?

    Stuart

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    4,280
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

    Quote Originally Posted by broadstairs View Post
    By emptying ~/.cache do you mean the whole directory or just those parts referring to plasma?
    If you can tell which are only about KDE/Plasma, then do those. It's just a cache. Its contents will be regenerated automatically if and when needed.
    Reg. Linux User 211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.4, TW, 15.1 & 13.1 on Haswell @earthlink.net
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2) &15.4 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: Debian, Fedora, Mageia, more on Rocket Lake & older Intel, AMD, NVidia....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    844

    Default Re: Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

    I have been trying to get back to the way my desktops switched before and the way they do on my laptop. So far no luck. I tested on my laptop turning on Slide as a desktop switching effect and saw how it work but when I do this on my desktop PC it has zero effect, it does not work as it should in fact no effect at all. So desktop effects seem to be broken or at least some. I tried turning off all effects but nothing I do changes anything on that series of settings! Anyone any ideas as to how to restore this functionality?

    Stuart

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Norfolk, UK
    Posts
    2,402

    Default Re: Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

    Check (KDE) "Settings -> Display and Monitor -> Compositor" to see that "Compositing: Enable on startup" is checked.

    If there has previously been a graphics driver crash KDE automatically and silently disables compositing, (which is needed for all Desktop Effects).
    Regards, Paul

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    4,280
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Strange effect when switching virtual deskops

    I'm guessing this could be fallout from work on an upstream bug mainly affecting users of multiple displays. IIRC, virtual desktops exist in "containments".
    Reg. Linux User 211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.4, TW, 15.1 & 13.1 on Haswell @earthlink.net
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2) &15.4 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: Debian, Fedora, Mageia, more on Rocket Lake & older Intel, AMD, NVidia....

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •