Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new install, fstrim.timer running more than the configured "once a week"?

Question new install, fstrim.timer running more than the configured "once a week"?

Hi,

I installed TW on a new laptop with an NVMe SSD as the internal drive. Installation detected the SSD and configured fstrim.timer to run once a week. I thought that was cool. But, when I checked journalctl, I found that fstrim is actually running more often than once a week (see CODE block below).

I am guessing that fstrim.timer is running every time I power on (or reboot) the laptop. Is that right? If so, is that a good idea? I am new to NVMe and I do not want to cause unnecessary wear just because I power off the laptop at night or reboot often when testing. Is there some parameter that I can set so that fstrim will run just once a week and NOT at every power on/reboot?

Thanks.

Code:
    #sudo journalctl -u fstrim.timer 
    Aug 08 01:34:14 laptop.test systemd[1]: Started Discard unused blocks once a week.
    Aug 08 04:35:05 laptop.test systemd[1]: fstrim.timer: Deactivated successfully.
    Aug 08 04:35:05 laptop.test systemd[1]: Stopped Discard unused blocks once a week.
    -- Boot 4af963e71de544f3acb913a6855936c9 --
    Aug 08 18:57:16 laptop.test systemd[1]: Started Discard unused blocks once a week.
    Aug 09 04:10:13 laptop.test systemd[1]: fstrim.timer: Deactivated successfully.
    Aug 09 04:10:13 laptop.test systemd[1]: Stopped Discard unused blocks once a week.
    -- Boot 4f43953df7b042c4a93a91a9cb8ca6aa --
    Aug 09 20:15:13 laptop.test systemd[1]: Started Discard unused blocks once a week.
    Aug 11 01:51:14 laptop.test systemd[1]: fstrim.timer: Deactivated successfully.
    Aug 11 01:51:14 laptop.test systemd[1]: Stopped Discard unused blocks once a week.
    -- Boot c80c463bb9304aa784f06d141d7c6156 --
    Aug 11 11:29:41 laptop.test systemd[1]: Started Discard unused blocks once a week.

#systemctl list-timers