Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Russia still D‑':
    Posts
    2,151

    Default Re: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

    Quote Originally Posted by dcurtisfra View Post

    • You'll need to make sure that, you have the following packages installed: “nvme-cli” and “libnvme1”.
    Not needed for using NVME drives, only for management: https://pkgs.org/download/libnvme.so.1()(64bit)

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Loma Linda, Mo
    Posts
    767

    Default Re: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

    Remember that the Disk/SATA option in the BIOS has to be AHCI and not RAID for OpenSUSE to see the M.2 drive.
    Most computers with m.2 form drives are shipped with Windows with RAID on in the BIOS. All Dell Latitudes are.
    OpenSUSE 15.4 with VirtualBox VM's (XP, 10, 11, Ubuntu MATE 22.04, Mint, Manjaro, 15.4, Tumbleweed)
    Unix since 1974 (pdp-11, Interdata, AT&T, Tandy, Convergent, Sun, IBM, NCR, and HP)
    Linux since 1995 (Mandrake, Fedora, CentOS, OpenSUSE)

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Canary Island Lat. 27.994547-15.405127 Lon-160m sea level
    Posts
    345

    Default Re: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

    Hello:
    Mine shares with sata7, if I connect a disk, it disables a pcie port.

    In addition, some of the nvme have other functions, which are activated if I use raid, they are usually Intel functions not available for linux.
    The pcie that do not share a hub with usb, or other devices and go directly to the cpu, are the ones that can be used in a VROC (virtual raid on the cpu), but for this the motherboard needs to be compatible and then buy a separate hard key, which costs a lot for what it is (I think the one for raid0-1-5-10, about $200).
    That is for the x299 II deluxe, in this hp omen it uses a pcie for one operating system and the hd for another (it originally came with win10 in a 256GB nvme, I talked to hp and changed it to 1T, I left win there, since it did not I use it, seize part in a partition for win-linux, and openSUSE I put it in HD ).
    Ram expanded to 2x16GB to enable hypertreading.
    And of course the S.O. when loaded into ram, it's fast, only I/O to HD is a bit slow.

    PHP Code:
    HP-OMEN:~ # inxi -SMBCIz 
    System
      
    Kernel5.3.18-150300.59.87-default archx86_64 bits64 
        Console
    pty pts/1 DistroopenSUSE Leap 15.3 
    Machine

      
    TypeLaptop SystemHP productOMEN by HP Laptop 15-dc0xxx vN/
        serial
    : <filter
      
    MoboHP model84DA v93.24 serial: <filterUEFIAMI vF.12 
        date
    03/23/2020 
    Battery

      
    ID-1BAT0 charge61.1 Wh (100.0%) condition61.1/61.1 Wh (100.0%) 
    CPU
      
    Info6-core modelIntel Core i7-8750H bits64 typeMT MCP cache
        
    L21.5 MiB 
      Speed 
    (MHz): avg800 min/max800/4100 cores1800 2800 3800 
        4
    800 5800 6800 7800 8800 9800 10800 11801 12799 
    Info

      
    Processes412 Uptime15d 16h 47m Memory31.17 GiB used4.67 GiB (15.0%) 
      
    ShellBash inxi3.3.20 
    It is important to read the manual of the motherboard, not all PCs behave in the same way, from there you have an example of the ACPI tables that differ between computers.


    Best regards .









  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    4,101
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

    Quote Originally Posted by mikrios View Post
    Ram expanded to 2x16GB to enable hypertreading.
    Please explain what this is supposed to mean. I never heard of hypertreading before. If you meant hyper-threading, that's a CPU function, not a RAM function. RAM sticks in pairs is about enabling multi-channel, usually dual-channel, sometimes triple-channel (sticks in triplets), or more (e.g. sticks in quads).
    Reg. Linux User 211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.4, TW, 15.1 & 13.1 on Haswell @earthlink.net
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2) &15.4 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: Debian, Fedora, Mageia, more on Rocket Lake & older Intel, AMD, NVidia....

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Canary Island Lat. 27.994547-15.405127 Lon-160m sea level
    Posts
    345

    Default Re: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Please explain what this is supposed to mean. I never heard of hypertreading before. If you meant hyper-threading, that's a CPU function, not a RAM function. RAM sticks in pairs is about enabling multi-channel, usually dual-channel, sometimes triple-channel (sticks in triplets), or more (e.g. sticks in quads).

    Hello:

    What you say is more or less correct.
    The pc came with a single 32 GB module, for Hyper-Threading, you have to use 2 memory channels and on the pc it appears as if it were 2 cpus for each core, the question is not very clear to me, but until I know put that configuration, it was not enabled or was not available. (2 modules of 16Gb) .
    In itself it is an Intel technology and it is related to multi-threading, and in the simulation of 2 cpus in a single one.
    If you ask me what ram has to do with this, well, I have no idea, but until I put them in pairs, Hyper-Threading was not available (idem from the p5, the last one I tried was an i5 without that and it had 4 nuclei and appeared as 4, if it had it, it would appear as 8 .

    In architectures and systems I did not study Intel, but cpus up to 16bits (with multiplexed addresses), and for rare micros, well those that were programmed in nrz and were later modulated in QAM, that is, in computer science and programming I am a super novice.
    technical services inc. this equipment, that change was made, no idea, and instead in my x299 the number of pairs is according to the number of channels (8 modules of 16GB each), in this case the equipment, is my home made and what I can say is that I appreciate as if I had more bandwidth. (maybe I don't know how to explain it well, sorry) .

    Best regards .

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Canary Island Lat. 27.994547-15.405127 Lon-160m sea level
    Posts
    345

    Default Re: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

    Hello:

    Thanks for the link, it also made me curious, why the technical services with cpus of that type have given me 2 modules (example when I bought hp, they changed the 32 for 2 of 16) and in P5 equipment they did the same to me same (in this case I do the same, without knowing why).
    I will study it, although if someone knows the answer better.

    As for the M2, in the x299, the cache accesses vary, there are some that I think go directly to the cpu (VROC?) and others do not.
    The hard key is not available in the distributor of my city, so I have changed the configuration in the bios, so that they behave like disks.
    The boot of 15.4 is done separately in raid 0 of 2 M2 WD Black SN850 of 1 Tera (change the M2 of the AN1500 for 2 of 1T and from there I use the efi/boot and a 100Gb root).

    Thanks and kind regards .

    PHP Code:
    mikrios:~ # inxi -SMCIz 
    System
      
    Kernel5.14.21-150400.24.18-default archx86_64 bits64 
        Console
    pty pts/1 DistroopenSUSE Leap 15.4 
    Machine

      
    TypeDesktop MoboASUSTeK modelPRIME X299-DELUXE II vRev 1.xx 
        serial
    : <filterUEFIAmerican Megatrends v3601 date09/24/2021 
    CPU

      
    Info12-core modelIntel Core i9-10920X bits64 typeMT MCP cache
        
    L212 MiB 
      Speed 
    (MHz): avg1201 min/max1200/4800 cores11200 21200 31202 
        4
    1203 51204 61203 71203 81202 91202 101202 111200 121200 
        13
    1200 141202 151202 161201 171202 181203 191203 201202 
        21
    1200 221204 231202 241202 
    Info

      
    Processes395 Uptime0h 25m Memory125.48 GiB used2.92 GiB (2.3%) 
      
    ShellBash inxi3.3.20 

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    FL, USA
    Posts
    4,101
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

    Hyper-threading CPUs and multi-channel RAM are independent of each other. Multi-channel RAM is much faster than single-channel RAM, up to nearly twice as fast, but it has nothing directly to do with CPU "core" count.

    Improved RAM speed from switching to dual 16G sticks from a single 32G stick could, probably in some cases should, make a PC feel as though CPU cores had been doubled, or hyper-threading switched from off to on in BIOS.
    Reg. Linux User 211409 *** multibooting since 1992
    Primary: 15.4, TW, 15.1 & 13.1 on Haswell @earthlink.net
    Secondary: eComStation (OS/2) &15.4 on i965P/Radeon
    Tertiary: Debian, Fedora, Mageia, more on Rocket Lake & older Intel, AMD, NVidia....

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Canary Island Lat. 27.994547-15.405127 Lon-160m sea level
    Posts
    345

    Default Re: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

    Hello:

    It may be what you say.
    Also it could be enabled when there were 2 modules.
    I will search the web, until now I had not been curious about this and I was reading the links that you have left me.

    Thanks for the clarifications and best regards.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Russia still D‑':
    Posts
    2,151

    Default Re: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmazda View Post
    Hyper-threading CPUs and multi-channel RAM are independent of each other. Multi-channel RAM is much faster than single-channel RAM, up to nearly twice as fast, but it has nothing directly to do with CPU "core" count.

    Improved RAM speed from switching to dual 16G sticks from a single 32G stick could, probably in some cases should, make a PC feel as though CPU cores had been doubled, or hyper-threading switched from off to on in BIOS.
    Using dual-channel memory provides speedup for the whole system from 0% up to 20%. Read this paper for details: https://www.phoronix.com/review/threadripper-5965wx-ram
    Using HT on Intel/AMD CPUs gives speedup from minus 5% to plus 30%.
    Different programs have different requirements and different speedups. Don't lump it under a general umbrella.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Russia still D‑':
    Posts
    2,151

    Default Re: Does 15.4 support M.2 SSD?

    Quote Originally Posted by mikrios View Post
    Hello:

    Thanks for the link, it also made me curious, why the technical services with cpus of that type have given me 2 modules (example when I bought hp, they changed the 32 for 2 of 16) and in P5 equipment they did the same to me same (in this case I do the same, without knowing why).
    I will study it, although if someone knows the answer better.

    As for the M2, in the x299, the cache accesses vary, there are some that I think go directly to the cpu (VROC?) and others do not.
    The hard key is not available in the distributor of my city, so I have changed the configuration in the bios, so that they behave like disks.
    The boot of 15.4 is done separately in raid 0 of 2 M2 WD Black SN850 of 1 Tera (change the M2 of the AN1500 for 2 of 1T and from there I use the efi/boot and a 100Gb root).

    Thanks and kind regards .

    PHP Code:
    mikrios:~ # inxi -SMCIz 
    System
      
    Kernel5.14.21-150400.24.18-default archx86_64 bits64 
        Console
    pty pts/1 DistroopenSUSE Leap 15.4 
    Machine

      
    TypeDesktop MoboASUSTeK modelPRIME X299-DELUXE II vRev 1.xx 
        serial
    : <filterUEFIAmerican Megatrends v3601 date09/24/2021 
    CPU

      
    Info12-core modelIntel Core i9-10920X bits64 typeMT MCP cache
        
    L212 MiB 
      Speed 
    (MHz): avg1201 min/max1200/4800 cores11200 21200 31202 
        4
    1203 51204 61203 71203 81202 91202 101202 111200 121200 
        13
    1200 141202 151202 161201 171202 181203 191203 201202 
        21
    1200 221204 231202 241202 
    Info

      
    Processes395 Uptime0h 25m Memory125.48 GiB used2.92 GiB (2.3%) 
      
    ShellBash inxi3.3.20 
    Use CODE tags, not PHP.
    Your system supports 8 memory slots and up to 4 memory channels https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cascad...icroprocessor)
    RTFM before posting.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •