Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Seeking advice on desktop purchase

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    30,690

    Default Seeking advice on desktop purchase

    I am rather a noob when it comes to hardware. My wifes desktop (HP Pavillion with 4x AMD AMD A10-7800 Radeon R7) is dying. Most of the time power on does nothing, not even the BIOS splash.

    So for a new one.
    I am now looking at a HP Pavillion Desktop TP01-2050nd. I think most there will not create any problems using openSUSE, but I have questions about the following:

    Processor: AMD Ryzen™ 5 5600G (tot 4,4 GHz boostkloksnelheid, 16 MB L3-cache, 6 cores, 12 threads)
    Is this different architecture then the x86_64 I use now on my systems? And when yes, what architecture code to look at when choosing the download?

    Disk: 512 GB PCIe® NVMe™ M.2 SSD
    The size is OK (the present system uses 4GB for swap, 20GB for ext4 / (43% used) and 200GB for ext4 /home (31% used). Does this NVMe require any hoops to jump through?, The same for SSD (I assume she will experience a very fast working system).

    An alternative is a bit heavier system with Ryzen 7 (do not think that is needed) and a 1TB revolving disk. Any reason to have that disk, assuming that the SSD will last as long as the system lasts and the space is not needed?

    Video: AMD Radeon™-videokaart
    Until now I only usede Intel. Does this run out of the box?

    Any other useful remarks?
    Of course I plan to use the whole disk when installing openSUSE, thus the pre-installed Windows 11 will be a deadborn one.
    Last edited by hcvv; 24-May-2022 at 05:31.
    Henk van Velden

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    East of Podunk
    Posts
    33,091
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Seeking advice on desktop purchase

    Hi
    Power supply and/or cmos battery needs replacing? Blow out all the dust bunnies? Pull the RAM and clean contacts and re-insert.

    It's x86_64 arch so no difference.

    For NVMe, I set mine to 4096 sectors, ensure disk scheduler is configured to 'none'. Stick with an NVMe device for sure.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    30,690

    Default Re: Seeking advice on desktop purchase

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    Hi
    Power supply and/or cmos battery needs replacing? Blow out all the dust bunnies? Pull the RAM and clean contacts and re-insert.
    Took it to the repair shop. They assume broken MB or CPU. I hope they would have found a bad CMOS battery. Not very helpful. It just started as it does most of the times in the morning. Trying directly after shutdown often goes wrong. I will do some dust removing, always a good thing.
    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    It's x86_64 arch so no difference.
    That is fine. Always using confusing strange names for the same , I hate that.
    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    For NVMe, I set mine to 4096 sectors, ensure disk scheduler is configured to 'none'. Stick with an NVMe device for sure.
    No idea where to do that. Will come back to this when the system is here.

    Most important for the moment is that I do not buy something that gives extra problems during installation and/or usage.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Erlangen
    Posts
    3,837

    Default Re: Seeking advice on desktop purchase

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    I am rather a noob when it comes to hardware. My wifes desktop (HP Pavillion with 4x AMD AMD A10-7800 Radeon R7) is dying. Most of the time power on does nothing, not even the BIOS splash.

    So for a new one.
    I am now looking at a HP Pavillion Desktop TP01-2050nd. I think most there will not create any problems using openSUSE, but I have questions about the following:

    Processor: AMD Ryzen™ 5 5600G (tot 4,4 GHz boostkloksnelheid, 16 MB L3-cache, 6 cores, 12 threads)
    Is this different architecture then the x86_64 I use now on my systems? And when yes, what architecture code to look at when choosing the download?

    Disk: 512 GB PCIe® NVMe™ M.2 SSD
    The size is OK (the present system uses 4GB for swap, 20GB for ext4 / (43% used) and 200GB for ext4 /home (31% used). Does this NVMe require any hoops to jump through?, The same for SSD (I assume she will experience a very fast working system).

    An alternative is a bit heavier system with Ryzen 7 (do not think that is needed) and a 1TB revolving disk. Any reason to have that disk, assuming that the SSD will last as long as the system lasts and the space is not needed?

    Video: AMD Radeon™-videokaart
    Until now I only usede Intel. Does this run out of the box?

    Any other useful remarks?
    Of course I plan to use the whole disk when installing openSUSE, thus the pre-installed Windows 11 will be a deadborn one.
    I bought my first computer from an OEM, but since 1995 I rely on retail components. Web sites such as memorypc.de and others are a great resource for planning.

    Plug and play parts list April 2022:
    Code:
    erlangen:~ # inxi -zFm  
    System:    Kernel: 5.17.9-1-default x86_64 bits: 64 Console: pty pts/1 Distro: openSUSE Tumbleweed 20220522 
    Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: Micro-Star model: B550-A PRO (MS-7C56) v: 2.0 serial: <filter> UEFI: American Megatrends LLC. 
               v: A.90 date: 03/17/2022 
    Memory:    RAM:total: 31.26 GiB used: 5.79 GiB (18.5%) 
               Array-1:capacity: 128 GiB slots: 4 EC: None 
               Device-1: DIMM 0 size: No Module Installed 
               Device-2: DIMM 1 size: 16 GiB speed: 3200 MT/s 
               Device-3: DIMM 0 size: No Module Installed 
               Device-4: DIMM 1 size: 16 GiB speed: 3200 MT/s 
    CPU:       Info: 6-Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 5600X bits: 64 type: MT MCP cache:L2: 3 MiB 
               Speed: 2198 MHz min/max: 2200/3700 MHz Core speeds (MHz):1: 2198 2: 2196 3: 2197 4: 2196 5: 2195 6: 2200 7: 2198 
               8: 2198 9: 2194 10: 2193 11: 2196 12: 2199 
    Graphics:  Device-1: AMD Lexa PRO [Radeon 540/540X/550/550X / RX 540X/550/550X] driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
               Display:server: X.Org 21.1.3 driver:loaded: amdgpu,ati unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa 
               resolution: 3840x2160~60Hz 
               OpenGL:renderer: AMD Radeon RX 550 / 550 Series (polaris12 LLVM 14.0.3 DRM 3.44 5.17.9-1-default) 
               v: 4.6 Mesa 22.1.0 
    Audio:     Device-1: AMD Baffin HDMI/DP Audio [Radeon RX 550 640SP / RX 560/560X] driver: snd_hda_intel 
               Device-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Starship/Matisse HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
               Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.17.9-1-default running: yes 
               Sound Server-2: PipeWire v: 0.3.51 running: yes 
    Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet driver: r8169 
               IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
    Drives:    Local Storage:total: 3.64 TiB used: 1.72 TiB (47.4%) 
               ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Samsung model: SSD 970 EVO Plus 2TB size: 1.82 TiB 
               ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Crucial model: CT2000BX500SSD1 size: 1.82 TiB 
    Partition: ID-1: / size: 1.77 TiB used: 407.07 GiB (22.4%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2 
               ID-2: /boot/efi size: 511 MiB used: 640 KiB (0.1%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1 
               ID-3: /home size: 1.77 TiB used: 407.07 GiB (22.4%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2 
               ID-4: /opt size: 1.77 TiB used: 407.07 GiB (22.4%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2 
               ID-5: /var size: 1.77 TiB used: 407.07 GiB (22.4%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/nvme0n1p2 
    Swap:      Alert: No swap data was found. 
    Sensors:   Message: No sensor data found. Is lm-sensors configured? 
    Info:      Processes: 383 Uptime: 1d 10h 18m Shell: Bash inxi: 3.3.07 
    erlangen:~ #
    With a desktop computer slim fit is a bad idea. The above components sit in a bequiet! Pure Base 600 - Midi-Tower, STRAIGHT POWER 11 450W Gold power supply, DARK ROCK 4 cooler. The Corsair 200R case is fine too.
    i7-6700K (2016), i5-8250U (2018), AMD Ryzen 5 3400G (2020), 5600X (2022) openSUSE Tumbleweed, KDE Plasma

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,843

    Default Re: Seeking advice on desktop purchase

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    .
    HP Pavillion Desktop TP01-2050nd.

    Processor: AMD Ryzen™ 5 5600G (tot 4,4 GHz boostkloksnelheid, 16 MB L3-cache, 6 cores, 12 threads)
    .
    Video: AMD Radeon™-videokaart
    .
    Hi Henk.

    The AMD RyzenTM CPUs with a “G” following the 4 digit number, all have an integrated GPU – usually a Vega 11 or 12.
    If you take a look at the AMD specifications, you'll note that Linux is mentioned – <https://www.amd.com/en/products/apu/amd-ryzen-5-5600g>.
    • Taking this system as an example, the GPU is happliy running with the “amdgpu” Kernel Module – no need for the AMD driver …

    Code:
     > inxi --admin --cpu
    CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 3400G with Radeon Vega Graphics bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen+ 
               family: 17 (23) model-id: 18 (24) stepping: 1 microcode: 8108109 L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
               flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm bogomips: 59195 
               Speed: 1262 MHz min/max: 1400/3700 MHz boost: enabled Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1260 2: 1261 3: 1261 4: 1342 5: 1261 
               6: 1263 7: 1261 8: 1306 
               Vulnerabilities: Type: itlb_multihit status: Not affected 
               Type: l1tf status: Not affected 
               Type: mds status: Not affected 
               Type: meltdown status: Not affected 
               Type: spec_store_bypass mitigation: Speculative Store Bypass disabled via prctl and seccomp 
               Type: spectre_v1 mitigation: usercopy/swapgs barriers and __user pointer sanitization 
               Type: spectre_v2 mitigation: Retpolines, IBPB: conditional, STIBP: disabled, RSB filling 
               Type: srbds status: Not affected 
               Type: tsx_async_abort status: Not affected 
     > 
     > inxi --admin --graphics
    Graphics:  Device-1: AMD Picasso/Raven 2 [Radeon Vega Series / Radeon Vega Mobile Series] vendor: ASUSTeK driver: amdgpu 
               v: kernel bus ID: 08:00.0 chip ID: 1002:15d8 
               Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.3 compositor: kwin_x11 driver: amdgpu display ID: :0 screens: 1 
               Screen-1: 0 s-res: 3840x2160 s-dpi: 140 s-size: 698x393mm (27.5x15.5") s-diag: 801mm (31.5") 
               Monitor-1: HDMI-A-0 res: 3840x2160 hz: 60 dpi: 140 size: 698x393mm (27.5x15.5") diag: 801mm (31.5") 
               OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon Vega 11 Graphics (RAVEN DRM 3.39.0 5.3.18-150300.59.68-default LLVM 11.0.1) 
               v: 4.6 Mesa 20.2.4 direct render: Yes 
     >
    The only nasty thing about this PC that I can see is – BIOS/UEFI updates –

    That's the reason I prefer to build my Desktop boxes myself – I choose a Mainboard which can be either updated via an image on a USB stick which I've setup on a Linux system or, a Mainboard with direct Internet access for BIOS/UEFI updates …

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    East of Podunk
    Posts
    33,091
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Seeking advice on desktop purchase

    Quote Originally Posted by dcurtisfra View Post
    Hi Henk.

    The AMD RyzenTM CPUs with a “G” following the 4 digit number, all have an integrated GPU – usually a Vega 11 or 12.
    If you take a look at the AMD specifications, you'll note that Linux is mentioned – <https://www.amd.com/en/products/apu/amd-ryzen-5-5600g>.
    • Taking this system as an example, the GPU is happliy running with the “amdgpu” Kernel Module – no need for the AMD driver …

    Code:
     > inxi --admin --cpu
    CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 3400G with Radeon Vega Graphics bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen+ 
               family: 17 (23) model-id: 18 (24) stepping: 1 microcode: 8108109 L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
               flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm bogomips: 59195 
               Speed: 1262 MHz min/max: 1400/3700 MHz boost: enabled Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1260 2: 1261 3: 1261 4: 1342 5: 1261 
               6: 1263 7: 1261 8: 1306 
               Vulnerabilities: Type: itlb_multihit status: Not affected 
               Type: l1tf status: Not affected 
               Type: mds status: Not affected 
               Type: meltdown status: Not affected 
               Type: spec_store_bypass mitigation: Speculative Store Bypass disabled via prctl and seccomp 
               Type: spectre_v1 mitigation: usercopy/swapgs barriers and __user pointer sanitization 
               Type: spectre_v2 mitigation: Retpolines, IBPB: conditional, STIBP: disabled, RSB filling 
               Type: srbds status: Not affected 
               Type: tsx_async_abort status: Not affected 
     > 
     > inxi --admin --graphics
    Graphics:  Device-1: AMD Picasso/Raven 2 [Radeon Vega Series / Radeon Vega Mobile Series] vendor: ASUSTeK driver: amdgpu 
               v: kernel bus ID: 08:00.0 chip ID: 1002:15d8 
               Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.3 compositor: kwin_x11 driver: amdgpu display ID: :0 screens: 1 
               Screen-1: 0 s-res: 3840x2160 s-dpi: 140 s-size: 698x393mm (27.5x15.5") s-diag: 801mm (31.5") 
               Monitor-1: HDMI-A-0 res: 3840x2160 hz: 60 dpi: 140 size: 698x393mm (27.5x15.5") diag: 801mm (31.5") 
               OpenGL: renderer: AMD Radeon Vega 11 Graphics (RAVEN DRM 3.39.0 5.3.18-150300.59.68-default LLVM 11.0.1) 
               v: 4.6 Mesa 20.2.4 direct render: Yes 
     >
    The only nasty thing about this PC that I can see is – BIOS/UEFI updates –

    That's the reason I prefer to build my Desktop boxes myself – I choose a Mainboard which can be either updated via an image on a USB stick which I've setup on a Linux system or, a Mainboard with direct Internet access for BIOS/UEFI updates …
    Hi
    It's only the USB device structure required, can do it from Linux and copy the updates over. This HP workstation has linux support
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    30,690

    Default Re: Seeking advice on desktop purchase

    I always used HP desktops here and never felt any urge to do a BIOS update. Do you really expect them to come and be important?

    @dcurtisfra.
    I bookmarked the link you provided (thanks). When I understand it correct, it explains at the end how to do it without Windows. Like @malcomlewis mentioned.

    Thanks for the explanation about the G in the type. I now understand why the video card description lacks any type indication. That is because it is inherent to the CPU description.

    And on the AMD Ryzen page you offered, I see indeed Ubuntu x86 64-Bit, which then is of course OK for openSUSE.

    Lots of reassuring information. Thanks to you both.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,843

    Cool Re: Seeking advice on desktop purchase

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    I always used HP desktops here and never felt any urge to do a BIOS update. Do you really expect them to come and be important?
    If HP has a super stable, absolutely perfectly tested, BIOS/UEFI on their Mainboards then, correct – you will, normally, not need to update the Mainboard's BIOS/UEFI.
    • But then, nobody's perfect – no even HP …

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,843

    Default Re: Seeking advice on desktop purchase

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmlewis View Post
    It's only the USB device structure required, can do it from Linux and copy the updates over.
    For the case of ASUS Mainboards, you pull a compressed file from ASUS and then, extract the BIOS/UEFI capabilities file to a USB stick – reboot; F2; BIOS; Expert Mode; update …
    • The instructions for the HP case seems to indicate that, you pull an executable (Windows) installation file from HP which also contains the BIOS/UEFI update file.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    30,690

    Default Re: Seeking advice on desktop purchase

    Quote Originally Posted by dcurtisfra View Post
    If HP has a super stable, absolutely perfectly tested, BIOS/UEFI on their Mainboards then, correct – you will, normally, not need to update the Mainboard's BIOS/UEFI.
    • But then, nobody's perfect – no even HP …
    Of course there can be "errors" in it that result in an update from HP. But as long as the system runs normally for me, why should I bother to update it? I assume that for a home system it will not be a security risk.

    At the moment I have some messages at boot that I offered for comment here on the forums. The answer was that is probably a BIOS error. That settled it for me. Just those few lines on the screen, but openSUSE works like a charm.
    Henk van Velden

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •