Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Vivaldi will not launch

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Sector 001
    Posts
    21

    Default Vivaldi will not launch

    Shortly after landing on Tumbleweeds desktop for the first time I installed Vivaldi using zapper, but it will not launch. I rebooted and attempted to launch it again and it still will not launch. Need suggestions on how to fix this. Thanks


    Code:
    locutus@localhost:~> vivaldi
    [15202:15202:0514/131447.410734:ERROR:vivaldi_ui_web_contents_delegate.cc(42)] UI Process abnormally terminate
    s with status 3 after running for 0.01079 seconds!
    [15202:15202:0514/131447.411723:ERROR:vivaldi_ui_web_contents_delegate.cc(73)] Quiting Vivaldi
    locutus@localhost:~> 

    Code:
    locutus@localhost:~> inxi -F
    System:    Host: localhost.localdomain Kernel: 5.17.5-1-default x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.24.5
               Distro: openSUSE Tumbleweed 20220512
    Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING v: Rev 1.xx
               serial: <superuser required> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 4204 date: 01/28/2021
    CPU:       Info: 6-Core model: AMD Ryzen 5 3600 bits: 64 type: MT MCP cache:L2: 3 MiB
               Speed: 2054 MHz min/max: 2200/3600 MHz Core speeds (MHz):1: 2054 2: 2057 3: 2575 4: 2056
               5: 3240 6: 2060 7: 2471 8: 2056 9: 2452 10: 1959 11: 3647 12: 2048
    Graphics:  Device-1: NVIDIA TU116 [GeForce GTX 1650 SUPER] driver: nouveau v: kernel
               Display: x11 server: X.Org 21.1.3 driver:loaded: modesetting failed: fbdev,vesa
               resolution: 2560x1080~60Hz
               OpenGL:renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 14.0.3 256 bits) v: 4.5 Mesa 22.0.3
    Audio:     Device-1: NVIDIA TU116 High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
               Device-2: AMD Starship/Matisse HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
               Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.17.5-1-default running: yes
               Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.0 running: yes
               Sound Server-3: PipeWire v: 0.3.51 running: yes
    Network:   Device-1: Intel I211 Gigabit Network driver: igb
               IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: a8:5e:45:55:75:ae
    Drives:    Local Storage:total: 20.58 TiB used: 4.98 TiB (24.2%)
               ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Western Digital model: WD Blue SN570 500GB size: 465.76 GiB
               ID-2: /dev/sda vendor: Samsung model: MZNTY128HDHP-000L1 size: 119.24 GiB
               ID-3: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: Seagate model: Expansion HDD size: 7.28 TiB
               ID-4: /dev/sdd type: USB vendor: Seagate model: ST8000AS0002-1NA17Z size: 7.28 TiB
               ID-5: /dev/sde type: USB vendor: Seagate model: ST330006 51NS size: 2.73 TiB
               ID-6: /dev/sdf type: USB vendor: Seagate model: ST3000DM 001-1E6166 size: 2.73 TiB
    Partition: ID-1: / size: 118.74 GiB used: 5.89 GiB (5.0%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda2
               ID-2: /boot/efi size: 511 MiB used: 5 MiB (1.0%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/sda1
               ID-3: /home size: 118.74 GiB used: 5.89 GiB (5.0%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda2
               ID-4: /opt size: 118.74 GiB used: 5.89 GiB (5.0%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda2
               ID-5: /var size: 118.74 GiB used: 5.89 GiB (5.0%) fs: btrfs dev: /dev/sda2
    Swap:      Alert: No swap data was found.
    Sensors:   System Temperatures:cpu: 43.0 C mobo: 34.0 C gpu: nouveau temp: 23.0 C
               Fan Speeds (RPM):cpu: 1318 case-1: 0 case-2: 0 case-3: 0 gpu: nouveau fan: 1463
    Info:      Processes: 340 Uptime: 0h 43m Memory: 23.38 GiB used: 2.9 GiB (12.4%) Shell: Bash inxi: 3.3.07
    

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    East of Podunk
    Posts
    33,091
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Vivaldi will not launch

    Hi
    Add the option `--disable-seccomp-filter-sandbox`.
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Sector 001
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: Vivaldi will not launch

    Thanks for that it did the trick, but am I going to have to add that for EVERY app I install? If so can I simply right click the app and add that command in the command field like I just did Vivaldi and have them launch without having to use the terminal?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    East of Podunk
    Posts
    33,091
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Vivaldi will not launch

    Quote Originally Posted by Locutus64 View Post
    Thanks for that it did the trick, but am I going to have to add that for EVERY app I install? If so can I simply right click the app and add that command in the command field like I just did Vivaldi and have them launch without having to use the terminal?
    Hi
    If they are electron type applications you may need to do some foo to make them work. What other applications are you thinking of?
    Cheers Malcolm °¿° SUSE Knowledge Partner (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE SLE, openSUSE Leap/Tumbleweed (x86_64) | GNOME DE
    If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
    please show your appreciation and click on the star below... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Sector 001
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: Vivaldi will not launch

    No no electron apps. Everything I normally installs comes from the the distros repos, flatpack, appimages, a handful run from their own folder, and a handful from the AUR. I know I can't use the AUR here. Here's a screen of my basic apps in Manjaro. On another note I just replaced the default folder in Vivaldi with my backed up default folder for it as I have done countless times without issue and now Vivaldi is back to not launching. I checked it's settings to make sure the one command wasn't removed and it's there. Any thoughts on why it won't launch now? Thanks

    EDIT:
    Looks like it's GPU related. Changing the video driver to the proprietary nVidia driver should solve the issue I would think.


    Code:
    locutus@localhost:~> vivaldi
    [6648:6700:0514/150428.514636:ERROR:login_database.cc(704)] Password store database is too new, kCurrentVersionNumber=29
    , GetCompatibleVersionNumber=31
    [6648:6700:0514/150428.514791:ERROR:password_store_impl.cc(56)] Could not create/open login database.
    [6648:6699:0514/150428.514860:ERROR:calendar_backend.cc(164)] INIT_TOO_NEW
    libva error: vaGetDriverNameByIndex() failed with unknown libva error, driver_name = (null)
    [6680:6680:0514/150428.550963:ERROR:viz_main_impl.cc(150)] Exiting GPU process due to errors during initialization
    [6735:6735:0514/150428.611225:ERROR:gpu_init.cc(426)] Passthrough is not supported, GL is egl
    [6740:6740:0514/150428.679233:ERROR:gpu_init.cc(426)] Passthrough is not supported, GL is egl
    [6745:6745:0514/150428.751233:ERROR:gpu_init.cc(426)] Passthrough is not supported, GL is egl
    [6750:6750:0514/150428.761307:ERROR:gpu_init.cc(426)] Passthrough is not supported, GL is disabled
    Trace/breakpoint trap (core dumped)
    [6655:6655:0100/000000.399779:ERROR:zygote_linux.cc(608)] Zygote could not fork: process_type gpu-process numfds 4 child
    _pid -1
    [6655:6655:0100/000000.399841:ERROR:zygote_linux.cc(640)] write: Broken pipe (32)
    locutus@localhost:~> vivaldi --disable-seccomp-filter-sandbox                    
    [6946:7000:0514/150529.702933:ERROR:calendar_backend.cc(164)] INIT_TOO_NEW
    [6946:7001:0514/150529.703858:ERROR:login_database.cc(704)] Password store database is too new, kCurrentVersionNumber=29
    , GetCompatibleVersionNumber=31
    [6946:7001:0514/150529.704017:ERROR:password_store_impl.cc(56)] Could not create/open login database.
    libva error: vaGetDriverNameByIndex() failed with unknown libva error, driver_name = (null)
    [6979:6979:0514/150529.739224:ERROR:viz_main_impl.cc(150)] Exiting GPU process due to errors during initialization
    [7036:7036:0514/150529.803234:ERROR:gpu_init.cc(426)] Passthrough is not supported, GL is egl
    Trace/breakpoint trap (core dumped)
    [3:3:0100/000000.612004:ERROR:zygote_linux.cc(608)] Zygote could not fork: process_type renderer numfds 5 child_pid -1
    [3:3:0100/000000.612070:ERROR:zygote_linux.cc(640)] write: Broken pipe (32)
    locutus@localhost:~>  


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Sector 001
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: Vivaldi will not launch

    I spoke too soon. It's not a driver issue. I just got the nVidia drive and it's OpenGL companion installed and rebooted and still can't launch Vivaldi.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Vivaldi will not launch

    Quote Originally Posted by Locutus64 View Post
    On another note I just replaced the default folder in Vivaldi with my backed up default folder for it as I have done countless times without issue and now Vivaldi is back to not launching.
    As the Vivaldi version between Manjaro and Tumbleweed are for sure different, copying a complete folder nearly never works as they are sometimes incompatible between the browser versions. As example user settings of a higher version are most likely incompatible with lower versions.
    You can see this at your console output where it complains that the "Password store database is too new"



  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Sector 001
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: Vivaldi will not launch

    Quote Originally Posted by hui View Post
    As the Vivaldi version between Manjaro and Tumbleweed are for sure different, copying a complete folder nearly never works as they are sometimes incompatible between the browser versions. As example user settings of a higher version are most likely incompatible with lower versions.
    You can see this at your console output where it complains that the "Password store database is too new"



    OK then by rights creating a list of my extensions and, deleting the default folder in Vivaldi for Tumbleweed, relaunching Vivaldi, and building it back up from scratch should do the trick?
    We Are Borg, We Are Here To Assimilate Linux

  9. #9

    Default Re: Vivaldi will not launch

    As you have the original data from your Manjaro installation, i would keep it there and export some files as described here:
    https://help.vivaldi.com/desktop/too...-browser-data/
    E.g. export passwords, bookmarks, notes...

    On your Tumbleweed: create a complete new browser profile (delete the default folder) and check first if your browser starts. If it starts fine, you can start to import the data from your Manjaro installation. If there are some incompatibilities you will be notified this way because your browser will complain. If you want to be 100% sure that everything works fine, you could as example import only your passwords, close browser, open it again and check if it still works. Now import the next set of data, close, restart, check...repeat.

    Or if you have already enabled the Sync service you could also use it (see linked article).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Location
    Sector 001
    Posts
    21

    Default Re: Vivaldi will not launch

    Pretty sure setting it up from scratch is the way to go(default it to like new, do my settings, and add my extensions one by one) . I don't save my password in Vivaldi and I have a 3rd part speeddial that autoupdates when added to any browser once I log in. As for bookmarks I have them but haven't used them in years. Thanks for the input and suggestions, they are appreciated. As for Tumbleweed itself it's coming along very nicely. Liking it so far.
    We Are Borg, We Are Here To Assimilate Linux

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •